Skip to Main Content

APA 7th Referencing Style Guide

Journal articles

Reference format

Who When What Where

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B.

Name of Group.

See the section on Reference list, Elements of a reference for more information on author format

(Year).

 

 Title of the article: Subtitle. Title of the Journal, Volume number(Issue number), page–page.

https://doi.org/xxx

https://xxxx

  • Find more information about the use of DOI and URL from the Elements of a reference page.

 

Article with a DOI

Dilkes-Frayne, E., Savic, M., Carter, A., Kokanović, R., & Lubman, D. I. (2019). Going online: The affordances of online counseling for families affected by alcohol and other drug issues. Qualitative Health Research, 29(14), 2010-2022. https://doi.org/10.1177/1049732319838231

Article without a DOI and from an online open access journal 

Dayton, K. J. (2019). Tangled arms: Modernizing and unifying the arm-oj-the-state doctrine. The University of Chicago Law Review, 86.6, 1497-1737. https://bit.ly/2SkWwcy

  • Include the article URL.

Article without a DOI and retrieved from a Library online journal or a print journal

McCrickard, M., Raymond, A., Raymond, F., & Song, H. (2018). The APLIA math assessment scores and introductory economics courses: An analysis. Journal of Business and Educational Leadership, 8(1), 4-18.

  • Use this style for articles retrieved through the Library article databases or print journals from libraries. They cannot be retrieved using a link.

Review articles

McAloon, J. (2020). Marilyn Waring: The political years [Review of the book The political years, by M. Waring]. New Zealand Journal of History, 54(1), 143-144.

  • Format of a book review: Reviewer, A. A. (date). Title of review [Review of the book Book title, by A. A. Author]. Journal title, volume(issue). page-page.
  • The above format is also used for citing reviews for films and TV programmes 

Article with an article number or eLocator

Yeh, D. A., Gómez, M. I., & Kaiser, H. M. (2019). Signaling impacts of GMO labeling on fruit and vegetable demand. PLOS ONE, 14(10), Article e0223910. https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0223910

Article in press

Ruiza, L. A., Serranoa, L., Españab, P. P., Martinez-Indartc, L., Gómeza, A., Urangab, A., Castroa, S., Artarazb, A., & Zalacaina, R. (in press). Factors influencing long-term survival after hospitalization with pneumococcal pneumonia. Journal of Infection.

  • If the In Press article has a DOI, include the DOI as normal

Advance online publication

Runge, M. C., Rushing, C. S., Lyons, J. E., & Rubenstein, M. A. (2023). A simplified method for value of information using constructed scales. Decision Analysis., Advance online publication. https://doi.org/10.1287/deca.2023.0474

  • Where multiple versions of the same work are available cite the version you used.  Ideally you should cite the final published version.

Original, propriety works only available in a database or archive

Ryan, A., Nevitt, S. J., Tuohy, O., & Cook, P. (2019). Biomarkers for diagnosis of Wilson's disease. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. https://doi.org/10.1002/14651858.CD012267.pub2

  • Use for the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, UpToDate, and preprint archive such as arXiv or bioRxiv
  • Include the name of the database or archive (in Italic) in the reference
  • If the DOI link includes "ezproxy.aut.ac.nz", remove it
  • No DOI? - include the URL of the database home page

Article with no DOI or journal website, but available in an archival database

Fennimore, D. L. (1981). American neoclassical furniture and its European antecedents. American Art Journal, 13(4), 49-65. http://www.jstor.org

Include the database home page URL if the article is:

  • published in a journal which does not have its own home page
  • ​​published in a discontinued journal
  • only available through an archival database, such as JSTOR 

Special issues or sections

Citing the whole special issue or section:

Haney, C., & Wiener, R. L. (Eds.). (2004). Capital punishment in the United States [Special issue]. Psychology, Public Policy, and Law, 10(4).

Citing an article within a special section or special issue:

  • Follow the format for a journal article (see above). 
  • Do not need to include the title of the special issue or section.

 

Find how to cite in text on the In-text citation page.

Articles from magazines, newspapers, blog posts

Reference format

Who When What Where  

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B.

Name of Group.

(Year, Month day).

 

 Title of the article: Subtitle. Title of the publication, Volume number(Issue number), page–page.

https://doi.org/xxx

https://xxxx

Magazine article

Bilger, B. (2019, November 25). Can babies learn to love vegetables? The New Yorker. https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2019/11/25/can-babies-learn-to-love-vegetables

Desperation for mechanical engineers. (2019, November). New Zealand Engineering News, 41(21), 11.

Eaqub, S. (2019, September/October). Generation rent revisited. Metro, (425), 64–77. 

Voosen, P. (2019, November 15). Drones reveal earthquake hazards hidden in the abyss. Science, 366(6467), 85. https://doi.org/10.1126/science.366.6467.785

Newspaper article

Class actions key feature of litigations. (2020, January 8). The Northern Advocate, A014.

Moodie, K. (2019, November 21). Almost half of sunscreens tested don't live up to label claims in Consumer NZ report. New Zealand Herald. https://www.nzherald.co.nz/business/news/article.cfm?c_id=3&objectid=12286981

Blog post 

Martinko, K. (2019, November 22). Burger King is running out of zesty sauce because of climate change. TreeHugger. https://www.treehugger.com/green-food/burger-king-running-out-zesty-sauce-because-climate-change.html

Editorial

Hou, L. (2019). Editorial for the special issue on water pollution control [Editorial] [Special issue]. Engineering, 5(5), 813–814. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.eng.2019.08.001

 

Find how to cite in text on the In-text citation page.