Library Guides: Resource Management and Environmental Law: Databases

Databases and News Alert

Database News

CCH NZ & Aust (IntelliConnect) database has updated to CCH iKnowConnect. A good database for Commercial Law content such as Employment, Company, Tax and covers NZ and Aust content.

Capital Letter is now online: Court judgment summaries from the New Zealand High Court, Court of Appeal and Supreme Court. It also provides updates on legislation, statutory reviews and general reviews. Judgments Express also available. Set up your own alerts.

NZ Recommended Databases

CCH New Zealand and Australia This link opens in a new window Tax cases and resources for Australia and New Zealand.
Hansard (via the New Zealand Parliament website) This link opens in a new window New Zealand Parliamentary Debates (Hansard) is the report of the proceedings of the House. The HANSARD database includes three collections: Hansard (Speeches), Oral Questions, and Written Questions. Hansard and the Written Questions from 1987- present are included, and Oral Questions from 1995- present. Draft Transcripts now published to the Parliament website within 2½ hours of members’ speeches being delivered in the House.
Lexis Advance This link opens in a new window Primarily covers NZ legislation, cases, commentary and journals. Also includes Australian and UK content
New Westlaw This link opens in a new window Formerly Westlaw NZ/Aust. Collection of New Zealand and Australian legal databases, including case law, legislation, commentary, journal and current awareness. AUT subscribes to most content available. A Thomson Reuters product.

International Recommended Databases

Lexis Advance This link opens in a new window Primarily covers NZ legislation, cases, commentary and journals. Also includes Australian and UK content
Hein Online This link opens in a new window HeinOnline provides electronic fulltext access to hundreds of key American, Canadian and international legal periodicals. A variety of legal topics are covered.
BestCase (via WestlawNext Canada) This link opens in a new window Comprehensive online resource for access to Canada Law Books law reports and summary series, with cases dating back to 1898 and summaries back to 1971. Includes the Dominion Law Reports, Canadian Criminal Cases, Labour Arbitration Cases, All Canada Weekly Summaries, and BC Civil Decisions. Full text searching with print, download, and email options.
Westlaw Classic This link opens in a new window Formerly Westlaw International. Legislation, case law, commentary and law reviews and journals from the United States, United Kingdom, Canada, European Union and other jurisdictions. Coverage varies for different countries and states. Australian legal content has moved to the WestlawNZ database. International New coverage includes significant Australian and NZ content.

Specific Databases - New Zealand

Emissions Trading and New Energy - Global Law Guide - via CCH NZ
Emissions Trading and New Energy - Global Law Guide Newsletter - via CCH NZ
Environment Handbook - via Westlaw NZ The Environmental Handbook is a collection of practice guides written by practising specialists in various resource management areas.
Environmental and Resource Management Law Online - via Lexis Advance
Environmental Cases - via Westlaw NZ
Fisheries Law - via Westlaw NZ
Maori Land Court Minute Books Index Access to over 1100 minute books between 1865 and 1910, from Taitokerau, Waikato-Maniapoto, Tairawhiti, Waiariki, Aotea, Takitimu, and Waipounamu Maori Land Court Districts. The Books are held in the Serials collection on level 3 City Campus Library. Contents: index only
New Zealand Resource Management Appeals - via Lexis Advance
Resource Management - via Westlaw NZ includes core legislation and commentary
Resource Management Bulletin - via Lexis Advance
Salmon Environmental Law - via Westlaw NZ Statutes, Regulations and associated commentary on a wide range of environmental topics

New Zealand and International Databases

This list contains databases with a significant level of Resource Management and Environmental Law material. Many databases contain Case Law, Legislation, Commentary and Journal Articles. For a full list of the Law Databases available please use the Law Subject Guide.

AGIS Plus Text This link opens in a new window Attorney-Generals Information Service. Access to journal articles from published material on all aspects of law. Includes Australian, New Zealand and Pacific law journals, and selected articles from major law journals from the United States, Canada and the UK. 2 concurrent users.

Google Scholar

Lexis Advance This link opens in a new window Primarily covers NZ legislation, cases, commentary and journals. Also includes Australian and UK content
New Westlaw This link opens in a new window Formerly Westlaw NZ/Aust. Collection of New Zealand and Australian legal databases, including case law, legislation, commentary, journal and current awareness. AUT subscribes to most content available. A Thomson Reuters product.
Scopus This link opens in a new window Excellent database for all scientific, technical and medical reserch. Provides citations, abstracts and references covering 16,000 peer-reviewed titles, most of them in full text. Highly recommended.
Westlaw Classic This link opens in a new window Formerly Westlaw International. Legislation, case law, commentary and law reviews and journals from the United States, United Kingdom, Canada, European Union and other jurisdictions. Coverage varies for different countries and states. Australian legal content has moved to the WestlawNZ database. International New coverage includes significant Australian and NZ content.

Legal Information Institutes

These links provide access to journals, legislation and case law for regions, countries and territories