Skip to main content

Tuwhera Open Theses & Dissertations: Guide for depositing theses/dissertations/research projects

AUT Open Access theses & Dissertations

Guide for depositing thesis/dissertation/exegesis/Master's projects in Tuwhera

Who should deposit a digital copy of thesis/dissertation/exegesis/project on Tuwhera?

  1. Doctoral or master's degree students who have completed a thesis/dissertation/exegesis are required to deposit a digital copy of your thesis/dissertation/exegesis in Tuwhera Open Theses & Dissertations.
  2. Master's students who have completed an exceptional research/practice project may be recommended by Faculties to deposit a digital copy of your work in Tuwhera Open Theses & Dissertations.

When do you deposit your work on Tuwhera?

  • You should deposit your thesis/dissertation/exegesis on Tuwhera once it has been examined and you have made any amendments required by the examiners.

PGR15 form - Deposit of thesis/dissertation/exegesis is required when you deposit your theses/dissertation/exegesis on Tuwhera.

 

Help

Please contact:

  • Research Repository Administrator: Rudy Bin Mahli,  Phone: (09) 921 9999 ext 6066, or
  • Research Support Coordinator: Ann Chen,  Phone: (09) 921 9999 ext 8573

The requirements for the formatting and presentation of theses and dissertations are available in the formatting and presentation chapter of the AUT Postgraduate Handbook. See page page 101 for font size, spacing and margins and 104 for the start of title, first page and other presentation requirements.

The title page of a thesis/dissertation/exegesis must contain the following elements:

  • Full title of the thesis/dissertation in title case
  • Student’s full name.
  • Qualification
  • Year (this should be the year the research is going to be submitted on the Tuwhera Open Theses website)
  • School, Division or Department

Find an example of a thesis title page below:         

Abstract

  • Before beginning the deposit process, create an abstract that best describes the content of your research. A well-written abstract will help people discover your thesis easily on the Internet.

Keywords

  • You will be asked to enter four or more keywords/phrases during the deposit process. It is a good idea to think about the most appropriate keywords or phrases before you begin the deposit process. If applicable, you should include your research methodology as one of the keywords.

File name

  • Save your file name as: Surname and the initial of your first name. Example: for an author named Jane Doe, the thesis file should be saved as DoeJ.pdf

File formats

  • The complete text of your thesis should be in PDF format.
  • Do not set any security on your PDF file(s) as this will be done by the Administrator before your work is made available on Tuwhera Open Theses & Dissertations.
  • If your work includes images, sound or movie files (i.e. created by you) that are separate from the text of your exegesis, you are encouraged to deposit these as supplementary files. We will accept files in any format and endeavour to make them available online. Filenames should indicate the content.

Third party copyright material is material in any format to which another person or entity holds the rights. If you include any substantial portion of third party copyright material in your thesis/dissertation/exegesis/research project report, for example an artwork or photograph, you should obtain permission from the copyright holder. The Copyright Guidelines for Research Students provides more details on how to use copyright materials. 

     

 

A sample permission request letter is available here:

If your work contains confidential or sensitive information, you may apply to have an embargo (a period of restricted access) for your thesis/dissertation/exegesis prior to or at the time of lodgment for examination by using form PGR16- Application for restricted access to a thesis/dissertation/exegesis. This requires the approval of the Associate Dean of your faculty.

  • If your thesis is embargoed, you must select Yes to the embargo question and provide the expiry date of the embargo during the deposit process:

                        

  • You must still deposit the digital copy of your thesis/dissertation/exegesis on TuwheraThe Research Repository  Administrator will ensure that your work is not released to the digital repository until the restriction has expired.
  • The PGR16 form should be included in your thesis file uploading.
  • If you complete a thesis with an exegesis for your degree, your thesis is embargoed, but not the exegesis, you should upload both files (upload the exegesis as a supplementary file) to Tuwhera. Only your full-text exegesis will be made available online.
  • A brief record of your thesis (without full-text thesis) will display in Tuwhera. Your embargoed full-text thesis will be released to Tuwhera on the release date stated on the PGR16 form.

Master's Research or Practice Projects

  • The AUT Library only collects exceptional Master's research/practice projects of at least 60 points recommended by Faculties.
  • The recommendation must be made via the PGR18 form, signed by the student and the Faculty. This form should be submitted with your research project document to Tuwhera.
  • Only the digital version of your research project report is accepted.
  • Follow the file format and layout, etc. on this guide.
  • Third party copyright material used in your work – please follow the instruction in the section "Third Party Copyright".
  • Go to Tuwhera, click the "Deposit your thesis" button, select "Deposit your thesis", and follow the steps to complete the deposit process.

           

Deposit requirements

  • The AUT Library only collects exceptional Bachelor with Honours dissertations recommended by Faculties.
  • The recommendation must be made via the PGR17 form, signed by the student and the Faculty.
  • Only the digital version of your dissertation is accepted.

 Deposit your dissertation online

  • Prepare your document file(s) in the correct format (check title and layout/format on this guide for more details).
  • Complete and sign the PGR17 form and submit this form with your dissertation/exegesis.
  • If your work includes images, sound or movie files which are separate from the text of your exegesis, deposit these items as supplementary files.
  • Go to Tuwhera, click the "Deposit your thesis" button, select "Deposit your BHons dissertation".

           

Your digital dissertation will be made available to AUT students and staff only (AUT network login required).

Loading ...