Skip to main content

EndNote for Mac

General notes

See APA Style Referencing Guide - Articles for definitive examples of APA-compliant references.

Articles – common issues 

  • Pay attention to capitalisation in titles as EndNote often gets this wrong
    • Article titles use sentence style capitalisation, i.e., capitalise the first word of the title and subtitle (after a colon, if there is one), and any proper nouns (names)
    • Journal/magazine and newspaper titles use headline style capitalisation, i.e., capitalise each significant word but not articles and prepositions
  • Where relevant, enter data in either the ‚ÄčDOI or URL or Name of Database fields
    • If an article has a DOI include it in the reference whether the article is an online or hardcopy (print) version
    • Because URLs for articles exported from a database to EndNote are usually of little use for future retrieval it is better to delete them, especially if the reference type is Electronic Article and there is a DOI
  • In the year field for reference type Article in press enter the words: in press

Workarounds

When EndNote output does not follow the exact APA style try the following:

Resource Reference Type Instruction Reference 
Online journal article with a DOI,
8 or more authors
Electronic Article (or Journal Article) Enter all the names in the Author field or just enter the first seven and then the last. All the names must be added if there are  up to seven authors.

Knight, E. D., Smith, J. B., Dubowitz, H., Litrownik, A. J., Kotch, J. B., English, D., ... Runyan, D. K. (2006). Reporting participants in research studies to child protective services: Limited risk to attrition. Child Maltreatment, 11, 257–262. https://doi.org/10.1177/1077559505285786

Online journal article with no DOI assigned Electronic Article In the URL field, enter the URL for the journal’s homepage (use Ulrichsweb database to locate the homepage)

Bartlett, R. P. (2009). Going private but staying public: Re-examining the effect of Sarbanes-Oxley on firms' going-private decisions. The University of Chicago Law Review,76(1), 7–39. Retrieved from http://lawreview.uchicago.edu/

Online journal article with no DOI assigned and:
from a discontinued journal, without a journal website and only available databases
Electronic Article In the URL field, enter the URL for the database homepage, e.g.
http://www.jstor.org
or
http://www.eric.ed.gov/

Fennimore, D. L. (1981). American neoclassical furniture and its European antecedents. American Art Journal, 13(4), 49–65. Retrieved from http://www.jstor.org

Online journal article with DOI, advance online publication (the article appears online before it is assigned a volume, issue or page numbers) Electronic Article

In Label field, type  Advance online publication

In URL field, type the database website for no doi items

In DOI field, type in doi numbers

Von Ledebur, S. C. (2007). Optimizing knowledge transfer by new employees in companies. Knowledge Management Research & Practice. Advance online publication. https://doi.org/10.1057/palgrave.kmrp.8500141

Cochrane review with DOI Electronic Article (or Journal Article)

URL field must be empty

Enter the year of publication in both the Year field and the Volume field

An issue number should be entered but no page numbers

Blake, D., Farquhar, C., Johnson, N., & Proctor, M. (2007). Cleavage stage versus blastocyst stage embryo transfer in assisted conception. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, (4). https://doi.org/10.1002/14651858.cd002118

Online magazine article (from a web magazine) Magazine Article

URL field must be empty

In the Access Date field, enter the date accessed and the URL, in the format:
October 14, 2010, from http://www.xxx

Enter the web magazine title (if there is one) into the Magazine field

New child vaccine gets funding boost. (2001). Retrieved March 21, 2001, from http://news.ninemsn.com.au/health /story_13178.asp

Online newspaper article, with author Newspaper Article

In the URL field, enter the URL for the newspaper’s homepage (use Ulrichsweb database to locate the homepage)

In the Issue Date field, enter the Month day (if applicable)

Include page number(s) if shown online, using the letter codes for section, if relevant, e.g.
B1-B2 or A1, A3

Zendrian, A. (2008, April 15). CEO pay too high? The New York Times. Retrieved from http://www.nytimes.com

Online newspaper article, with no author Newspaper Article

Do not enter Anonymous in the Reporter field unless this is stated on the article

In the URL field, enter the URL for the newspaper’s homepage

In the Issue Date field, enter the Month or Month day (if applicable)

Include page number(s) if shown online (EndNote will add p. or pp.)

Nuke test inquiry doubted. (2009, April 23). The Dominion Post, p. 5. Retrieved from http://www.stuff.co.nz/dominion-post/

Print journal article with a DOI Journal Article Include the DOI if there is one, even if you accessed the print version of the article (the reference will look the same as for the online version)

Wilson, S., Spies-Butcher, B., & Stebbing, A. (2009). Targets and taxes: Explaining the welfare orientations of the Australian public. Social Policy & Administration, 43, 508-525. https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1467-9515.2009.00676.x

Print magazine article Magazine Article In the Date field, enter the Month or Month day or the Season (if applicable)

Wichtel, D. (2009, March 21). The funny business.  Listener, 217(3593), 30–32

Print newspaper article Newspaper Article

In the Issue Date field, enter the Month or Month day (if applicable)

Include page number(s), using the letter codes for section, if relevant, e.g.
B1-B2 or A1, A3
(EndNote will add p. or pp.)

Fleming, G. (2008, November 4). Shaking up the  working world. The New Zealand Herald, p. D1.

Articles in Special Issues Journal article Us the journal article reference format as usual

Orazi, D. C., Lei, J., & Bove, L. L. (2015). The nature and framing of gambling consequences in advertising. Journal of Business Research, 68(10), 2049–2056.  https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jbusres.2015.03.002