Key databases for Health Science
- CINAHL Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature The CINAHL database is the only database designed specifically to meet the information needs of nurses and allied health professionals and provides English-language nursing
- Cinahl Tutorial How to Print, Email, Download to Endnote
- Cinahl advanced guide covers AND, OR, NOT, Truncation, Limits by date and quality
- MIDIRS
Maternity and Infant Care database from MIDIRS (Midwives Information and Resource Service). Maternity and Infant Care is an essential resource for academics and health care professionals. - Cochrane
Evidence based medicine including clinical trials Fulltext - Scopus Scopus is a database for scientific, technical and medical information, containing approximately 16,000 journals back to 1966.
- Web of Science Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database of mostly scientific literature, listing 39 million items from some 8,700 journals.
- INNZ Index New Zealand
Index New Zealand (INNZ) is an index with abstracts from selected New Zealand serials, 300 journals, and newspapers about New Zealand and the South Pacific. - Intermid
intermid.co.uk is the online archive of peer-reviewed articles from the British Journal of Midwifery, the UK's leading clinical journal for midwives. The site contains all articles published in the journal since 1996. - Ovid Full text Journals Over 200 top Nursing and Medical journals full text
- Psycinfo
PsycINFO® is an electronic bibliographic database that provides citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health including psychiatry, social science, medicine, and social work. - MIMS Online Hospital guidelines and medicine information - making access to hospital specific medicine information quick and easy. This information is clearly identified.
including information regarding the use of medicines in New Zealand including the NZ Immunisation Schedule, IOC medicine in sport information and the use of medicines in pregnancy.
Databases
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) - also includes the contents of Sociological Collection
Published by: EBSCO Information Services
Description: The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,000 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,100 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975. Subject areas include: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies and more. Significant full text
Description: The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,000 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,100 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975. Subject areas include: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies and more. Significant full text
AMED Allied and Complementary Medicine
Published by: The British Library Health Care Information Service
Description: AMED is a literature database in the field of allied and alternative medicine. The database contains bibliographic data, keywords, and abstracts. Subjects covered include: acupuncture, homeopathy, hypnosis, chiropractic, osteopathy, rehabilitation, herbalism, holistic treatments, chinese medicine, occupational therapy, physiotherapy, podiatry.
Coverage: 1985+ updated monthly Content: Index only
Description: AMED is a literature database in the field of allied and alternative medicine. The database contains bibliographic data, keywords, and abstracts. Subjects covered include: acupuncture, homeopathy, hypnosis, chiropractic, osteopathy, rehabilitation, herbalism, holistic treatments, chinese medicine, occupational therapy, physiotherapy, podiatry.
Coverage: 1985+ updated monthly Content: Index only
Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre (EBSCO)
Published by: EBSCO Information Services
Description: The Australia/NZ Reference Centre combines Australia and New Zealand specific magazines, newspapers & newswires, reference books, and company information to create the largest collection of regional full text content available to schools, public libraries, and academic institutions. This database provides local perspectives on current events, business, sports, and many other subjects
Content: significant full text
Description: The Australia/NZ Reference Centre combines Australia and New Zealand specific magazines, newspapers & newswires, reference books, and company information to create the largest collection of regional full text content available to schools, public libraries, and academic institutions. This database provides local perspectives on current events, business, sports, and many other subjects
Content: significant full text
CSA databases
Published by: CSA
Description: AUT subscribes to the following databases on the CSA platform: ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering, ARTbibliographies Modern, ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts, Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, Communication Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection, DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index, Education: A SAGE Full-Text Collection, Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts, Management & Organization Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection, Materials Science: A SAGE Full-Text Collection, Medical and Pharmaceutical Biotechnology Abstracts, Nursing & Health Sciences: A SAGE Full-Text Collection, Political Science: A SAGE Full-Text Collection, Psychology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection, Social Services Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection. All databases are cross-searchable and work with articlelinker to help you locate full text.
Coverage: varies by database
Content: full text in Sage collections, other databases index only
Description: AUT subscribes to the following databases on the CSA platform: ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering, ARTbibliographies Modern, ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts, Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, Communication Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection, DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index, Education: A SAGE Full-Text Collection, Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts, Management & Organization Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection, Materials Science: A SAGE Full-Text Collection, Medical and Pharmaceutical Biotechnology Abstracts, Nursing & Health Sciences: A SAGE Full-Text Collection, Political Science: A SAGE Full-Text Collection, Psychology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection, Social Services Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection. All databases are cross-searchable and work with articlelinker to help you locate full text.
Coverage: varies by database
Content: full text in Sage collections, other databases index only
EBSCO Health Databases
Databases available: Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic, Clinical Pharmacology, Clinical Reference Systems, Health Business FullTEXT Elite, Health Source: Consumer Edition, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, MEDLINE, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, Stedman's Medical Dictionary.
Coverage: Varies by database, updated daily
Content: Significant full text
Databases available: Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic, Clinical Pharmacology, Clinical Reference Systems, Health Business FullTEXT Elite, Health Source: Consumer Edition, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, MEDLINE, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, Stedman's Medical Dictionary.
Coverage: Varies by database, updated daily
Content: Significant full text
EBSCO MegaFile Premier
Description: EBSCO MegaFile Premier is a suite of 24 databases covering a wide variety of subjects. More than 7000 of the 11000 titles are available in full text including 3200 peer-reviewed journals. Also includes 900 Country Economic reports and 10000 company profiles from Datamonitor.
Content: Significant full text
Description: EBSCO MegaFile Premier is a suite of 24 databases covering a wide variety of subjects. More than 7000 of the 11000 titles are available in full text including 3200 peer-reviewed journals. Also includes 900 Country Economic reports and 10000 company profiles from Datamonitor.
Content: Significant full text
Evidence Based Medicine Reviews
Published by: The Cochrane Collaboration and the American College of Physicians
Description: A definitive resource for electronic information in the evidence based medicine (EBM) movement that combines 4 of the most trusted EBM resources into a single, fully-searchable database. Includes The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (full text), The Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE - fulltext), ACP Journal Club (full text) and The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials.
Coverage: Updated quarterly Full Text
Concurrent User: 4
Description: A definitive resource for electronic information in the evidence based medicine (EBM) movement that combines 4 of the most trusted EBM resources into a single, fully-searchable database. Includes The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (full text), The Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE - fulltext), ACP Journal Club (full text) and The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials.
Coverage: Updated quarterly Full Text
Concurrent User: 4
Health and Psychosocial Instruments
Published by: Behavioral Measurement Database Services
Description: Health and Psychosocial Instruments features material on unpublished information-gathering tools for clinicians that are discussed in journal articles, such as questionnaires, interview schedules, tests, checklists, rating and other scales, coding schemes, and projective techniques. Over 2/3 of the tools are in medical and nursing areas such pain measurement, quality of life assessment, and drug efficacy evaluation. In addition to medical measurement instruments, HaPI presents tests used in medically related disciplines including psychology, social work, occupational therapy, physical therapy, and speech & hearing therapy.
Coverage: 1985+, updated quarterly, Index only
Concurrent Users: 1
Description: Health and Psychosocial Instruments features material on unpublished information-gathering tools for clinicians that are discussed in journal articles, such as questionnaires, interview schedules, tests, checklists, rating and other scales, coding schemes, and projective techniques. Over 2/3 of the tools are in medical and nursing areas such pain measurement, quality of life assessment, and drug efficacy evaluation. In addition to medical measurement instruments, HaPI presents tests used in medically related disciplines including psychology, social work, occupational therapy, physical therapy, and speech & hearing therapy.
Coverage: 1985+, updated quarterly, Index only
Concurrent Users: 1
Health Sciences: A Sage Full Text Collection - formerly Nursing: A Sage Full Text Collection.
Description: includes the full text of 24 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 23 years, encompassing over 6,000 articles. It covers such subjects as nursing, social studies of health, nursing research, health services & administration, community / public health nursing, qualitative research, cultural studies, child psychiatry, transcultural psychiatry, adult health nursing, public health, public policy & public administration, health psychology, aging and gerontology, health communication, family studies, physiology, physical medicine & rehabilitation, pediatrics, holistic nursing, nursing theory, pediatric nursing, autism, mental disorders & learning disability, health education & health promotion, clinical psychology, developmental psychology, psychopathology, health evaluation, research methods & evaluation, dementia, and sociology of the family.
Coverage: Varies by title, earliest 1981+, updated monthly, Full Text
Description: includes the full text of 24 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 23 years, encompassing over 6,000 articles. It covers such subjects as nursing, social studies of health, nursing research, health services & administration, community / public health nursing, qualitative research, cultural studies, child psychiatry, transcultural psychiatry, adult health nursing, public health, public policy & public administration, health psychology, aging and gerontology, health communication, family studies, physiology, physical medicine & rehabilitation, pediatrics, holistic nursing, nursing theory, pediatric nursing, autism, mental disorders & learning disability, health education & health promotion, clinical psychology, developmental psychology, psychopathology, health evaluation, research methods & evaluation, dementia, and sociology of the family.
Coverage: Varies by title, earliest 1981+, updated monthly, Full Text
Joanna Briggs Best Practice and Systematic Reviews database
Description: The Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) has as its central focus, the appropriateness, meaningfulness and effectiveness of health care. The Publication Title Search
facility can be used to identify Systematic Reviews and Best Practice Information Sheets developed by JBI. Some, but not all, of these information resources are freely available in full text.
Coverage: all Systematic Reviews are assessed for update every 5 years
Content: some fulltext
facility can be used to identify Systematic Reviews and Best Practice Information Sheets developed by JBI. Some, but not all, of these information resources are freely available in full text.
Coverage: all Systematic Reviews are assessed for update every 5 years
Content: some fulltext
Joanna Briggs RAPid database
Description: RAPid (Rapid Appraaisal Protocol Internet Database) is a library specifically developed for students of medicine, nursing, midwifery, physiotherapy, occupational therapy, podiatry, medical radiation, dietetics and other health sciences. It contains RAP sheets prepared by students and appraised by the Joanna Briggs Institute. Each RAP sheet is a critical appraisal and evidence summary of a single study or of a completed systematic review.
Coverage: each RAP sheet has a limited lifespan, Full text
Coverage: each RAP sheet has a limited lifespan, Full text
Lippincott Nursing Book Collection
Description: A full text collection of 12 premium Nursing Book titles. The Lippincott Nursing Book Collection, available via Books@Ovid, is an unmatched resource for a wide range of nursing research needs. Fully searchable and always the most recently published edition.
Coverage: most recent edition of each book
Concurrent User: 1
Description: A full text collection of 12 premium Nursing Book titles. The Lippincott Nursing Book Collection, available via Books@Ovid, is an unmatched resource for a wide range of nursing research needs. Fully searchable and always the most recently published edition.
Coverage: most recent edition of each book
Concurrent User: 1
MEDLINE - via EBSCO
Published by: National Library of Medicine
Description: MEDLINE is the NLM's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,600 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The file contains over 11 million citations dating back to the mid-1960's. Coverage is worldwide, but most records are from English-language sources or have English abstracts. Citations prior to the mid-1960s can be found in NLM's OLDMEDLINE database.
Coverage: 1957+ (OLDMEDLINE 1957-1965, MEDLINE 1966+), updated daily
Content: some full text
Description: MEDLINE is the NLM's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,600 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The file contains over 11 million citations dating back to the mid-1960's. Coverage is worldwide, but most records are from English-language sources or have English abstracts. Citations prior to the mid-1960s can be found in NLM's OLDMEDLINE database.
Coverage: 1957+ (OLDMEDLINE 1957-1965, MEDLINE 1966+), updated daily
Content: some full text
MEDLINE - via OVID
Published by: National Library of Medicine
Description: MEDLINE is the NLM's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,600 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The file contains over 11 million citations dating back to the mid-1960's. Coverage is worldwide, but most records are from English-language sources or have English abstracts.
Coverage: 1966+, updated daily
Concurrent Users: 8
Content: Index only
Description: MEDLINE is the NLM's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,600 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The file contains over 11 million citations dating back to the mid-1960's. Coverage is worldwide, but most records are from English-language sources or have English abstracts.
Coverage: 1966+, updated daily
Concurrent Users: 8
Content: Index only
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Published by: Buros Institute
Description: Mental Measurements Yearbook, from the Buros Institute, contains the most recent descriptive information and critical reviews of new and revised tests from the Buros Institute's 9th, 10th, 11th, 12th, 13th, 14th, 15th and 16th Yearbooks. The database covers more than 2,200 commercially-available tests in categories such as personality, developmental, behavioral assessment, neuropsychological, achievement, intelligence and aptitude, educational, speech & hearing, and sensory motor.
Coverage: 1985+, updated 6 monthly
Concurrent User: 1
Description: Mental Measurements Yearbook, from the Buros Institute, contains the most recent descriptive information and critical reviews of new and revised tests from the Buros Institute's 9th, 10th, 11th, 12th, 13th, 14th, 15th and 16th Yearbooks. The database covers more than 2,200 commercially-available tests in categories such as personality, developmental, behavioral assessment, neuropsychological, achievement, intelligence and aptitude, educational, speech & hearing, and sensory motor.
Coverage: 1985+, updated 6 monthly
Concurrent User: 1
Published by: CMPMedica (NZ) Ltd
Description: MIMS Online provides easy access to the following products:
Description: MIMS Online provides easy access to the following products:
- MIMS Abbreviated Medicines Information - Quick reference New Zealand product information.
- MIMS DrugAlert - Fully referenced drug-to-drug interaction checking.
- MedSafe Product Data Sheets and Consumer Medicine Information - Easy access to the MedSafe full product information is offered.
- Hospital guidelines and medicine information - Employers are able to add their own content to MIMS Online, making access to hospital specific medicine information quick and easy. This information is clearly identified.
- MIMS Library - Additional information regarding the use of medicines in New Zealand including the NZ Immunisation Schedule, IOC medicine in sport information and the use of medicines in pregnancy.
- Coverage: updated continuously
Content: Full text
ProQuest Central
Description: Indexing over 5500 journals across several disciplines and with full text for over 3000, ProQuest is one of the world's most comprehensive collections of digital information. Millions of complete articles are available online in various formats.
Databases available: ABI/INFORM Global, Academic Research Library, Accounting and Tax, Banking Information Source, Career and Technical Education, GenderWatch(GW), Health and Medical Complete, Pharmaceutical News Index, ProQuest Asian Business, ProQuest Computing, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses, ProQuest Education Complete, ProQuest European Business, ProQuest Nursing Journals, ProQuest Religion, ProQuest Science Journals, ProQuest Social Science Journals, ProQuest Telecommunications.
Coverage: Varies by database, updated daily
Content: Significant full text, but best used by ticking scholarly articles
Description: Indexing over 5500 journals across several disciplines and with full text for over 3000, ProQuest is one of the world's most comprehensive collections of digital information. Millions of complete articles are available online in various formats.
Databases available: ABI/INFORM Global, Academic Research Library, Accounting and Tax, Banking Information Source, Career and Technical Education, GenderWatch(GW), Health and Medical Complete, Pharmaceutical News Index, ProQuest Asian Business, ProQuest Computing, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses, ProQuest Education Complete, ProQuest European Business, ProQuest Nursing Journals, ProQuest Religion, ProQuest Science Journals, ProQuest Social Science Journals, ProQuest Telecommunications.
Coverage: Varies by database, updated daily
Content: Significant full text, but best used by ticking scholarly articles
PsycINFO
Published by: American Psychological Association
Description: PsycINFO® is an electronic bibliographic database that provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. The PsycINFO database contains almost 2 million references to psychological literature from the 1800s–present, from journal articles, books, book chapters, technical reports, and dissertations.
Coverage: 1872+, updated regularly
Content: index only
Description: PsycINFO® is an electronic bibliographic database that provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. The PsycINFO database contains almost 2 million references to psychological literature from the 1800s–present, from journal articles, books, book chapters, technical reports, and dissertations.
Coverage: 1872+, updated regularly
Content: index only
ScienceDirect
Published by: Elsevier Science
Description: Over 1850 journals from Elsevier Science, Academic Press and Harcourt Health Sciences covering a wide range of disciplines.
Coverage: 1995+ (with over 900 titles available from volume 1 issue 1 onwards), updated daily
Content: full text 1995+, selected titles full text from volume 1 issue 1
Description: Over 1850 journals from Elsevier Science, Academic Press and Harcourt Health Sciences covering a wide range of disciplines.
Coverage: 1995+ (with over 900 titles available from volume 1 issue 1 onwards), updated daily
Content: full text 1995+, selected titles full text from volume 1 issue 1
For further databases go to
Subject Guide |
Donna Jarvis
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait