Company InformationFinancial Statistics and Time SeriesNew Zealand
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Finance 

This is a brief guide to sources of information for Finance available at AUT Library
Last update: Nov 08th, 2009 URL: http://aut.ac.nz.libguides.com/finance  Print Guide  RSS Updates

APA Referencing             Print Page
  
 

Referencing and Plagiarism

What is referencing?

Referencing means acknowledging all the sources (books, articles, websites, reports, images etc) that you have used in writing your assignment. Because this material contains other people’s ideas and research, you need to acknowledge their influence within your own work.

Most faculties at AUT use the APA referencing style

 

Why bother?

Referencing is an academic requirement. It is unethical (and can be illegal) to pass off the intellectual property of others as your own. This is called plagiarism and is regarded as a very serious offence.

AUT students are required to submit their assignments through Turn-it-in; this is software that checks the work for plagiarised ideas and language.

Learning to reference correctly is your best protection against charges of plagiarism.

 

APA guides


The first two guides are for quick reference only.  Refer to the other guides if you need more detail or explanations. Guides for citing legal material are included below.

  • APA Citation style  
    Very brief guide to how to format references in a reference list. Colour coded. (Provided by Long Island University)
  • Quick©ite  
    Provides drop down boxes so the user can select the type of document to be referenced. An interactive site, it gives the format plus an example for citations, both in text and in reference lists. (Provided by the University of Auckland)
  • APA Overview and Workshop  
    Easy to navigate, the list of APA rules includes examples and discussion. (Provided by the Writing Lab & the OWL at Purdue University)
  • Electronic References  
    How to format citations, in text and in reference lists, for electronic media including: online books, annual reports, power point slides, articles with DOIs, podcasts, websites with no dates, etc. (Updated version of section 4.16, 5th edition)
  • Referencing Guide  
    Covers how to format citations, in text and in reference lists, for most types of documents. Includes explanations and examples. (Provided by the AUT University Library)
  • Te Tari Awhina Referencing Guide  
    Covers how to format citations in text and in reference lists, for most types of documents. Includes both explanations and examples. (Provided by Te Tari Awhina, AUT University)
 

Word 2007

Use Word 2007 to create reference lists and in text references.

 

Liaison Librarian

Profile ImageSushila Parmanandam
Contact Info:
City Campus Library
WA Building
Ph: 921 9999 ext 8510
Send Email

Subjects:
Economics, Marketing & Advertising, Computing Business Applications

Endnote

 is a personal reference management software used in New Zealand and internationally.

AUT students and staff can download it for free from the AUT University website.  At present we are using Endnote X

Use EndNote to help you with your APA referencing:

- Store, manage and organise your references

- Create bibliographies and reading lists

- Import references directly from Library databases

- Create in-text citations and a list of References as you type.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait