Skip to main content

EndNote: Journal, Magazine and Newspaper Articles in EndNote

Guide to using EndNote, software that helps organise your reference sources. Also allows you to create in text citations and a list of references as you type in Microsoft Word.

General points about articles in EndNote

On other pages....

Click on the headings below for tips and examples of how to create EndNote records that will produce accurate references in the APA 6th style.

                                                                  
  • Pay attention to capitalisation of titles when creating EndNote records. It is easier to get it right the first time than to go back and correct this and EndNote will not correct it for you.

  • Article titles: use sentence style capitalisation. This means you capitalise the first word of the title and of the subtitle (after a colon), if there is one, and any proper nouns (names), for example:
                           Plant biogeography and the late Cenozoic history of New Zealand

  • Journal/magazine and newspaper titles:  use headline style capitalisation. This means you capitalise each significant word - do not capitalise articles and prepositions, for example:
                           New Zealand Journal of Botany

  •  Where relevant, enter data in only one of these fields: URL or DOI or Name of Database

  • If an article has a DOI, you should include it in the reference - whether the article is an online or hardcopy (print) version. For tips on finding and using a DOI, click here

  • For tips on finding a journal homepage URL, click here

  • If you wish to include a persistent (stable) URL for the full text article in your EndNote record as well as the journal homepage URL required in a reference, put it in one of the other fields, e.g. Notes field rather than URL field

  • Caution: when references are exported from a database to EndNote, the URLs that are transferred are seldom persistent URLs and are therefore of little use for future access to the full text articles. It is often better to delete them, especially when using the reference type Electronic Article with a DOI present

  • For an article in press, in the Year field type: in press

  • Use Type of Work field to indicate the type of article, where relevant, e.g. enter: Editorial or Letter to the editor

                                                                                                                                                             

Tips for Articles

Description

EndNote reference type

Tips

Example of reference list entry

 

Online journal article with a DOI

Electronic Article (or Journal Article)

Check here for guidance on including an issue number

Li, S., & Seale, C. (2007). Learning to do qualitative data analysis: An observational study of doctoral work. Qualitative Health Research, 17, 1442-1452. doi:10.1177/1049732307306924

Online journal article with a DOI,
8 or more authors

Electronic Article (or Journal Article)

Enter all the author names in the EndNote record or you can just enter the first 7 and the last one

Knight, E. D., Smith, J. B., Dubowitz, H., Litrownik, A. J., Kotch, J. B., English, D., ... Runyan, D. K. (2006). Reporting participants in research studies to child protective services: Limited risk to attrition. Child Maltreatment, 11, 257-262. doi:10.1177/107755950528578

Online journal article with no DOI assigned

Electronic Article

In the URL field, enter the URL for the journal’s homepage (use Ulrichsweb database to locate the homepage)

Bartlett, R. P. (2009). Going private but staying public: Re-examining the effect of Sarbanes-Oxley on firms' going-private decisions. The University of Chicago Law Review, 76, 7-39. Retrieved from http://lawreview.uchicago.edu/

 McGlone, M. S. (1985). Plant biogeography and the late Cenozoic history of New Zealand. New Zealand Journal of Botany, 23, 723-749. Retrieved from http://www.royalsociety.org.nz/Site/publish /Journals/nzjb/default.aspx

Online journal article with no DOI assigned and:
from a discontinued journal, without a journal website and only available in JSTOR or ERIC databases

Electronic Article

In the URL field, enter the URL for the database homepage, e.g.
http://www.jstor.org
or
http://www.eric.ed.gov/

Fennimore, D. L. (1981). American neoclassical furniture and its European antecedents. American Art Journal, 13(4), 49-65. Retrieved from http://www.jstor.org

Online journal article with DOI, advance online publication (the article appears online before it is assigned a volume, issue or page numbers)

 

Electronic Article

• URL and DOI fields must be empty

Type the retrieval statement (URL or DOI information) in full into the Label field
e.g. the Label field reads:
Retrieved from http://www.bmj.com/
or
doi:10.1057/palgrave.kmrp.8500141

Von Ledebur, S. C. (2007). Optimizing knowledge transfer by new employees in companies. Knowledge Management Research & Practice. Advance online publication. doi:10.1057/palgrave.kmrp.8500141

 

Cochrane review with DOI

Electronic Article (or Journal Article)

• URL field must be empty

Enter the year of publication in both the Year field and the Volume field

An issue number should be entered but no page numbers

Blake, D., Farquhar, C., Johnson, N., & Proctor, M. (2007). Cleavage stage versus blastocyst stage embryo transfer in assisted conception. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, 2007(4). doi:10.1002/14651858.CD002118.pub3

 

Online magazine article

Magazine Article

In the URL field, enter the URL for the magazine’s homepage (use Ulrichsweb database to locate the homepage)

In the Date field, enter the Month or Month day or the Season (if applicable)

Include an issue number if available

Include page number(s) if shown online

Read, E. (2007, November 1). Myth-busting gen Y. New Zealand Management, 54(10), 63-64. Retrieved from http://www.management.co.nz

 

Online magazine article (from a web magazine)

Magazine Article

URL field must be empty

In the Access Date field, enter the date accessed and the URL, in the format:
October 14, 2010, from http://www.xxx

Enter the web magazine title (if there is one) into the Magazine field

New child vaccine gets funding boost. (2001). Retrieved March 21, 2001, from http://news.ninemsn.com.au/health /story_13178.asp

 

Online newspaper article, with author

Newspaper Article

In the URL field, enter the URL for the newspaper’s homepage (use Ulrichsweb database to locate the homepage)

In the Issue Date field, enter the Month day (if applicable)

Include page number(s) if shown online, using the letter codes for section, if relevant, e.g.
B1-B2 or A1, A3

Zendrian, A. (2008, April 15). CEO pay too high? The New York Times. Retrieved from http://www.nytimes.com

 

Online newspaper article, with no author

Newspaper Article

Do not enter Anonymous in the Reporter field unless this is stated on the article

In the URL field, enter the URL for the newspaper’s homepage

In the Issue Date field, enter the Month or Month day (if applicable)

Include page number(s) if shown online (EndNote will add p. or pp.)

Nuke test inquiry doubted. (2009, April 23). The Dominion Post, p. 5. Retrieved from http://www.stuff.co.nz/dominion-post/

Print journal article, no DOI

Journal Article

Check here for guidance on including an issue number

McFeely, S. (2001). Young people’s pathway to smoking cessation. Nursing Standard, 16(2), 39-42.

Print journal article with a DOI

Journal Article

Include the DOI if there is one, even if you accessed the print version of the article (the reference will look the same as for the online version)

Wilson, S., Spies-Butcher, B., & Stebbing, A. (2009). Targets and taxes: Explaining the welfare orientations of the Australian public. Social Policy & Administration, 43, 508-525. doi:10.1111/j.1467-9515.2009.00676.x

Print magazine article

Magazine Article

In the Date field, enter the Month or Month day or the Season (if applicable)

Wichtel, D. (2009, March 21). The funny business. The New Zealand Listener, 217(3593), 30-32.

Print newspaper article

Newspaper Article

In the Issue Date field, enter the Month or Month day (if applicable)

Include page number(s), using the letter codes for section, if relevant, e.g.
B1-B2 or A1, A3
(EndNote will add p. or pp.)

Fleming, G. (2008, November 4). Shaking up the working world. The New Zealand Herald, p. D1.

 

 

Top of the page