Library Guides: Law: Databases

Databases and News Alert

Database News

CCH NZ & Aust (IntelliConnect) database has updated to CCH iKnowConnect. A good database for Commercial Law content such as Employment, Company, Tax and covers NZ and Aust content.

Capital Letter is now online: Court judgment summaries from the New Zealand High Court, Court of Appeal and Supreme Court. It also provides updates on legislation, statutory reviews and general reviews. Judgments Express also available. Set up your own alerts.

NZ Recommended Databases

Lexis Advance This link opens in a new window Primarily covers NZ legislation, cases, commentary and journals. Also includes Australian and UK content
New Westlaw This link opens in a new window Formerly Westlaw NZ/Aust. Collection of New Zealand and Australian legal databases, including case law, legislation, commentary, journal and current awareness. AUT subscribes to most content available. A Thomson Reuters product.

International Recommended Databases

HeinOnline

ICLR (The Incorporated Council of Law Reporting) This link opens in a new window ICLR is a not for profit organisation that was established in 1865 as the authorised publisher of the official series of The Law Reports for the Superior and Appellate Courts of England and Wales. The ICLR Law Reports have been removed from the Justis Database and now available here.
Westlaw Classic This link opens in a new window Formerly Westlaw International. Legislation, case law, commentary and law reviews and journals from the United States, United Kingdom, Canada, European Union and other jurisdictions. Coverage varies for different countries and states. Australian legal content has moved to the WestlawNZ database. International New coverage includes significant Australian and NZ content.

New Zealand and International databases

This is the full list of Law databases available. Many databases contain Case Law, Legislation, Commentary and Journal Articles. You may wish to use the more specific Tabs above to access those specific modules within the databases.

AGIS Plus Text This link opens in a new window Attorney-Generals Information Service. Access to journal articles from published material on all aspects of law. Includes Australian, New Zealand and Pacific law journals, and selected articles from major law journals from the United States, Canada and the UK. 2 concurrent users.

AustLII - Australian Legal Information Institute for Federal and State Legislation
Australian Taxation Law Library - via Austlii Contains over 27,000 searchable items of tax-related cases, legislation, law journal articles, treaties and ATO Rulings and Determinations and NSW SRO Rulings and more. It is updated daily.
BAILII - British and Irish Legal Information Institute British and Irish case law and legislation, European Union case law, Law Commission reports and other law-related British and Irish material

Cambridge Law Reports (ILR & ICSID) This link opens in a new window CLR comprises of the International Law Reports (ILR), which are wholly devoted to the English reporting of decisions of international courts and arbitrators, as well as judgments of national courts, and the International Convention on the Settlement of Investment Disputes Reports (ICSID), which provide the only comprehensive collection of the decisions of arbitral tribunals and ad hoc committees established under the auspices of the World Bank's International Centre for the Settlement of Investment Disputes.

CanLII - Canadian Legal Information Institute for Federal Statutes and Regulations Includes coverage for all provinces and territories

CCH New Zealand and Australia This link opens in a new window Tax cases and resources for Australia and New Zealand. Now available with the new IntelliConnect interface.See also Taxation Guide
CCH Wheelers eBooks This link opens in a new window A collection of New Zealand ebooks for Law, Tax and Business published by CCH Wolters Kluwer. Login using your AUT computer login to access full content and functions.
CINCH (Australian Criminology Database) This link opens in a new window A bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on all aspects of crime and criminal justice from 1968 onwards. Some full text.

Google Scholar Google Scholar provides a search for scholarly literature identifying the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research. Google Scholar indexes and provides links to works from a wide variety of academic publishers and professional societies, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
GPBills - via Knowledge Basket The Bills Digest is created by the New Zealand Parliamentary Library. Highly trained professionals summarise the content of Bills before Parliament. The database containing digests from 1998 - 2006 has been discontinued. Please use the Bills Digest from the NZ Parliament website.
Halsburys Laws of England online - via Lexis Advance
Hansard - via Knowledge Basket The HANSARD database includes three collections: Hansard (Speeches), Oral Questions, and Written Questions. Hansard and the Written Questions from 1987- present are included, and Oral Questions from 1995- present.

Hansard (via the New Zealand Parliament website) This link opens in a new window New Zealand Parliamentary Debates (Hansard) is the report of the proceedings of the House. The HANSARD database includes three collections: Hansard (Speeches), Oral Questions, and Written Questions. Hansard and the Written Questions from 1987- present are included, and Oral Questions from 1995- present. Draft Transcripts now published to the Parliament website within 2½ hours of members’ speeches being delivered in the House.

Hansard Index - via the Parliamentary website From August 2002 onwards. Indexes are uploaded as they become available. Daily, weekly, and cumulative indexes are working documents and are subject to change.
Hart Publishing ebooks - via iG Publishing ebooks Independent publisher in Oxford, UK, committed to the highest standards of excellence in legal publishing. International in scope. 500+ titles, including, textbooks, scholarly monographs and works for practitioners
HeinOnline
Historical Hansard - via the Parliamentary website Coverage: May 1854 - Dec 2002 fulltext online

ICLR (The Incorporated Council of Law Reporting) This link opens in a new window The authorised publisher of the official series of The Law Reports for the Superior and Appellate Courts of England and Wales. The ICLR Law Reports have been removed from the Justis Database and now available here. For the full list of reports available http://www.aut.ac.nz/__data/assets/pdf_file/0011/396092/ICLR-2013.pdf
InsideWellington This link opens in a new window New Zealand News service, focusing primarily on central and local government policy issues and legislation. Updated daily. It has four components: Friday newsletter: reports on draft policy papers published for consolation from central government agencies, regional authorities and city councils; major government appointments; papers published by government agencies; regulations promulgated; papers presented to Parliament; Bills and SOPs introduced during the week; progress of Bills; select committee reports; and Bills expected to be debated in the following week. Media Links: a daily service providing links to media articles, including TVNZ and TV3, concerning central and local government, along with business news. Subscribers then follow the link to the article. Media Links is delivered by about 8.00am. Policy Alert - one-off report of a government’s major policy announcement; Legislation Alert: Bills and Select committee reports.

LawCite - via AustLII website LawCite is an automatically generated international legal case citator. Use to locate judgments and to see how these have been subsequently dealt with and commented upon. LawCite includes all references to all decisions that it can identify.
Legal Information Institute - US Produced by the Cornell Law School
LegislationNZ - via Knowledge Basket NZ Acts (unconsolidated), Regulations, Bills, Hansard and more.

Lexis Advance This link opens in a new window Primarily covers NZ legislation, cases, commentary and journals. Also includes Australian and UK content
Maori Land Court Minute Books Index This link opens in a new window Access to over 1100 minute books between 1865 and 1910, from Taitokerau, Waikato-Maniapoto, Tairawhiti, Waiariki, Aotea, Takitimu, and Waipounamu Maori Land Court Districts. The Books are held in the Serials collection on level 3 City Campus Library. Content: index only
Max Planck - Public International Law This link opens in a new window via Oxford University Press

New Zealand Legislation A free database of up-to-date New Zealand Acts, Statutory Regulations and Bills. Provided by the New Zealand Parliamentary Counsel Office (PCO), which is responsible for drafting and publishing most of New Zealand's legislation.
New Zealand Refugee Law Provides the full text of all the leading decisions of New Zealand's Refugee Status Appeals Authority (RSAA) as well as the Practice Notes of the RSAA.

New Westlaw This link opens in a new window Formerly Westlaw NZ/Aust. Collection of New Zealand and Australian legal databases, including case law, legislation, commentary, journal and current awareness. AUT subscribes to most content available. A Thomson Reuters product.

NZLII - New Zealand Legal Information Institute

OUP Journals This link opens in a new window OUP is widely recognised as one of the world's premier journal publishers, successfully combining traditional values of quality and service together with innovative use of the latest technologies. AUT has access to the full text of more than 150 OUP journals.

Oxford Bibliographies - International Law Developed cooperatively with scholars worldwide, offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Combines an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopaedia.

Oxford Reports - Courts of General Jurisdiction This link opens in a new window Aims to provide all ORIL users with comprehensive coverage of decisions from the most important and general international courts. ICGJ covers all contentious and advisory cases from the International Court of Justice, Permanent Court of International Justice, International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea, and the Permanent Court of Arbitration.
Oxford Reports - Human Rights Law This link opens in a new window Covers international decisions on human rights from a variety of global and regional courts.
Oxford Scholarly Authorities in International Law This link opens in a new window Contains full-text online editions of market-leading reference works and treatises published by Oxford University Press
Oxford Scholarship Online: Law This link opens in a new window E-book collection, ranging from the foundations of legal history and philosophy to analytic and comparative work on legal doctrine and empirical research on law in modern society. Includes new titles: Oxford Studies in European Law, Oxford Monographs in International Law, Oxford Monographs in Criminal Law and Justice, Clarendon Studies in Criminology, Oxford Monographs in Labour Law, Oxford Studies in Modern Legal History, Oxford Studies in International Economic Law, and the International Courts and Tribunals series.
Proceedings of the Old Bailey This link opens in a new window The Old Bailey Proceedings Online makes available a fully searchable, digitised collection of all surviving editions of the Old Bailey Proceedings from 1674 to 1913, and of the Ordinary of Newgate's Accounts, 1690 to 1772. Coverage: 1674 - 1913

Springer Humanities, Social Sciences and Law e-books Over 150 books are published annually in Springer’s humanities, social sciences and law program making it a well-known and established scientific source. AUT currently has access to more than 928 books in this collection.
Supreme Court of Canada Judgments This collection includes the decisions rendered by the Supreme Court of Canada since 1948. While the database is not comprehensive, many decisions before 1948 are available, including all decisions originating from Ontario and British Columbia back to 1876. Decisions published in the Supreme Court Reports from 1970 to date are available in both English and French. Decisions published prior to 1970 are available in the language of publication only.

The Treaty of Waitangi Collection This link opens in a new window The Treaty of Waitangi Collection brings together leading thinking on this foundational document, including works by acclaimed scholars such as Claudia Orange, Judith Binney, Vincent O’Malley, Alan Ward and Aroha Harris. Designed and managed by award-winning New Zealand publisher Bridget Williams Books, the Collection is a living resource backed by a long-term vision for Treaty scholarship into the twenty-first century.
vLexJustis This link opens in a new window vLexJustis is a legal research tool that allows you to locate and identify the status of case law and legislation. Contains some full text, with links to other AUT subscription legal databases, where you will find the full text. Coverage is primarily UK, with additional EU, Singapore and NZ content. UK case law (1163-), Acts of Parliament (1235-), Statutory Instruments (1797-) and EU law (1952-), Singapore cases (1965-) and NZ cases (2003-).
Westlaw Classic This link opens in a new window Formerly Westlaw International. Legislation, case law, commentary and law reviews and journals from the United States, United Kingdom, Canada, European Union and other jurisdictions. Coverage varies for different countries and states. Australian legal content has moved to the WestlawNZ database. International New coverage includes significant Australian and NZ content.

Non-law databases with law content

The following is a list of Business and Multidiscipline databases which contain scholarly legal journals and information.

Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Factiva This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window