Databases
Purpose:
To identify articles (or occasionally books, chapters, or other sources) that match your search criteria.
One of the key factors in making effective use of the databases is to select the correct database(s) that best matches your desired topic.
If in doubt as to which database(s) might match what you want, please contact us for assistance.
AUT Databases
The databases listed on the following pages are far from all that AUT has access to. A complete alphabetical list of the AUT databases may be found at:
- The AUT Databases list
A summary of the following boxes:
Health databases, covering a wide range of topics
Health databases covering specific subject areas
- Databases for All Subjects (Multi-disciplinary databases)
Databases covering a wide range of topics (including, but not limited to, health)
Full-text
Full-text is a phrase used to mean that the entire item is available (as opposed to only a summary being available). Generally the phrase implies that it is on-line, but it may also mean physically in print.
Databases for all subjects
These cover most subject areas and include research level material. To limit to New Zealand material add zealand as a keyword.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Specialised Health Databases (Psychotherapy)
Databases listed here are those that cover a specific (and often narrow) range of topics within the Health area, and are suitable for searches only within those areas of specialty..
However, please note that there are also general Health related databases listed that may be suitable for topics that are of interest to you.
Databases
- Best Practice This link opens in a new window
- Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works This link opens in a new window
- Counseling and Therapy in Video This link opens in a new window
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments This link opens in a new window
- MIMS Online This link opens in a new window
- PEP: Psychoanalytic Electronic Publishing This link opens in a new window
- PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
- PsycBOOKS This link opens in a new window
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- PsychiatryOnline: DSM Premium This link opens in a new window
General Health databases and resources
Databases listed here are those that cover a comprehensive range of topics within the general Health topic area, and are suitable for most searches within that field.
- CINAHL Complete (via EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- EBSCO Health Databases This link opens in a new window
- MEDLINE (via EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- MEDLINE (via Ovid) This link opens in a new window
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
New Zealand databases
Other useful databases
- Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- ERIC (via OVID) This link opens in a new window
- EThOS - British Library's Electronic Theses Online Service This link opens in a new window
- INNZ: Index New Zealand This link opens in a new window
- New Zealand Legislation This link opens in a new window
- nzresearch.org.nz This link opens in a new window
- OAIster This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- Tuwhera Open Acess Theses & Dissertations This link opens in a new window
- Standards New Zealand This link opens in a new window
- Te Puna - New Zealand National Union Catalogue This link opens in a new window
- Trove This link opens in a new window
Your Liaison Librarian
09 921 9999 ext.7331
North Shore Campus Library, AL Building
Monday - Friday
I can help you find and use Library resources. Contact me for help and support, or book a research consultation with me using the link below:
Book a research consultation
Library Help Desks
North Shore Campus Help Desk
Located on Level One, of the North Shore Campus Library, AL Building.
Call 09 921 9999 ext.7701
City Campus Help Desk
Located on Level Four (Entrance level), of the City Campus Library, WA Building.
Call 09 921 9999 ext.8628
South Campus Help Desk
Located at the South Campus Library, MA Building.
Call 09 921 9999 ext.9347