Library Guides: Employment Law: Databases

Databases and News Alert

Database News

CCH NZ & Aust (IntelliConnect) database has updated to CCH iKnowConnect. A good database for Commercial Law content such as Employment, Company, Tax and covers NZ and Aust content.

Capital Letter is now online: Court judgment summaries from the New Zealand High Court, Court of Appeal and Supreme Court. It also provides updates on legislation, statutory reviews and general reviews. Judgments Express also available. Set up your own alerts.

NZ Recommended Databases

Lexis Advance This link opens in a new window Primarily covers NZ legislation, cases, commentary and journals. Also includes Australian and UK content
New Westlaw This link opens in a new window Formerly Westlaw NZ/Aust. Collection of New Zealand and Australian legal databases, including case law, legislation, commentary, journal and current awareness. AUT subscribes to most content available. A Thomson Reuters product.
CCH New Zealand and Australia This link opens in a new window Tax cases and resources for Australia and New Zealand.

International Recommended Databases

HeinOnline

Lexis Advance This link opens in a new window Lexis Advance US Research - within the main database
Westlaw Classic This link opens in a new window Formerly Westlaw International. Legislation, case law, commentary and law reviews and journals from the United States, United Kingdom, Canada, European Union and other jurisdictions. Coverage varies for different countries and states. Australian legal content has moved to the WestlawNZ database. International New coverage includes significant Australian and NZ content.

Specific Databases - New Zealand

New Zealand and International Databases

This is the full list of Law databases available. Many databases contain Case Law, Legislation, Commentary and Journal Articles. You may wish to use the more specific Tabs above to access those specific modules within the databases.

AGIS Plus Text This link opens in a new window Attorney-Generals Information Service. Access to journal articles from published material on all aspects of law. Includes Australian, New Zealand and Pacific law journals, and selected articles from major law journals from the United States, Canada and the UK. 2 concurrent users.
CCH New Zealand and Australia This link opens in a new window Tax cases and resources for Australia and New Zealand. Now available with the new IntelliConnect interface.See also Taxation Guide

GPBills - via Knowledge Basket The Bills Digest is created by the New Zealand Parliamentary Library. Highly trained professionals summarise the content of Bills before Parliament. The database containing digests from 1998 - 2006 has been discontinued. Please use the Bills Digest from the NZ Parliament website.
Halsburys Laws of England - via Lexis Advance this covers many subject ares
Hansard - via Knowledge Basket The HANSARD database includes three collections: Hansard (Speeches), Oral Questions, and Written Questions. Hansard and the Written Questions from 1987- present are included, and Oral Questions from 1995- present.
Hansard - via the Parliamentary Website Hansard via the Parlamentary web site includes browsable Debates and Speeches, and enhanced searching of all content from 2003 onwards. Coverage: 2000 - present
Industrial Relations - Australia - via CCH NZ
LawCite LawCite is an automatically generated international legal case citator. Use to locate judgments and to see how these have been subsequently dealt with and commented upon.
Laws of Australia (Westlaw NZ) The Laws of Australia is a legal encyclopaedia, with 320+ chapters covering 38,000 legal statements to summarise almost every area of Australian law.
LegislationNZ - via Knowledge Basket NZ Acts (unconsolidated), Regulations, Bills, Hansard and more

Lexis Advance This link opens in a new window Primarily covers NZ legislation, cases, commentary and journals. Also includes Australian and UK content

Legal Information Institutes

These links provide access to journals, legislation and case law for regions, countries and territories

AsianLII
Asian Legal Information Institute
AustLII
Australian Legal Information Institute for Federal and State Legislation
BAILII
British and Irish Legal Information Institute.
CanLII
Canadian Legal Information Institute for Federal Statutes and Regulations.
CommonLII
Commonwealth Legal Information Institute
HKLII
Hong Kong Legal Information Institute
Legal Information Institute - US
NZLII
New Zealand Legal Information Institute
PacLII
Pacifc Islands Legal Information Institute
SAFLII
Southern Africa Legal Information Institute
WorldLII
World Legal Information Institute.