Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Resources for AUT Alumni

This is a brief guide to some resources and services available to alumni of Auckland University of Technology

Free databases

The following tools provide free access to a wealth of scholarly and professional literature.

Note: some articles listed in these sources may not be available free in full text. We recommend you use the interlibrary loan service at your public library to obtain such items - see the box to the right for more information.

Free articles from JSTOR

JSTOR is a not-for-profit service that includes full-text content of more than 1,400 academic journals, as well as thousands of primary sources.

As well as the subscription-based service provided to libraries such as AUT, JSTOR also has various initiatives aimed at providing free, read-online access to individual scholars and researchers, specifically to those not affiliated with participating institutions. To use these free services, go to www.jstor.org and enter a search. You do not require an AUT username and password to access JSTOR this way.

Early Journal Content
Free access to journal articles in JSTOR published prior to 1923 in the United States and prior to 1870 elsewhere. Includes discourse and scholarship in the arts and humanities, economics and politics, and in mathematics and other sciences. Nearly 500,000 articles from more than 200 journals.

To find out more, click here.

Register & Read
Approximately 1,200 journals from more than 700 publishers, a subset of the content in JSTOR. This includes content from the first volume and issue published for these journals through a recent year (generally 3-5 years ago). When you encounter an item that is part of the Register & Read program, you may register for a free MyJSTOR account to read the item online. Once you’ve registered (or logged in with your account, if you already have one) you may add the item to your MyJSTOR "shelf,” which allows you to view the content as full-text page images. 

You may have up to three items on your shelf at any time, for as long as you'd like. But an item must stay on the shelf for a minimum of 14 days before it can be removed and replaced with a new item.

To find out more, click here.

Borrow from other libraries

Most public libraries in New Zealand provide an interlibrary loan service for their members - this allows you to borrow books and articles from other libraries in New Zealand and worldwide. There is usually a small cost per item.

To find out about other public libraries' interlibrary loan services, use the Directory of New Zealand Libraries