|
EndNote
|
Mendeley
|
Zotero
|
Software support
|
- AUT Library supports the use of EndNote (online guide, workshops and consultations)
- Software support is provided by AUT ICT Services
- EndNote website provides online training materials and a blog
|
- AUT Library online guide
- Mendeley website provides online training materials/blog
|
- AUT Library online guide
- Zotero website provides training materials and discussion forums/ blog
|
Cost
|
- Available in all AUT computers
- AUT users can download a free copy from the AUT website to a personal computer
|
- Free
- AUT Institutional membership provides additional data storage
|
- Free
- Pay for extra online storage
|
Operating systems
|
- Windows 7, 8, 8.1, 10
- MacOS 10.14 or later
Check the EndNote website for more details and latest updates.
|
-
- MacOS 10.10, or later
- Linux
Check the Mendeley website for more details and latest updates.
|
- Windows 7 or later
- MacOS 11 or later
- Linux
Check the Zotero website for more details and latest updates.
|
Devices
&
Online versions
|
- Desktop
- Online - EndNote Online
- Free iPad app
- Sync between devices and online library
|
- Desktop
- Online - Mendeley Reference Manager
- Sync between devices and online library
|
- Desktop
- Online
- Sync between devices and online library
|
Storage
|
- Unlimited local storage
- 2GB online storage
|
- AUT users: 100 GB personal & shared storage
- Free account: 2GB storage
|
- Unlimited local storage
- 300MB free online storage
|
Work with Word processor
|
- Desktop: MS Word, OpenOffice
- EndNote cite while you write (CWYW) is a comprehensive tool for citing references and editing citations
- CWYW for both desktop and online libraries
- A better tool for managing long documents and a large reference collection
|
- MS Word, OpenOffice
- Cite while you write with desktop library
|
- MS Word, LibreOffice, Google Docs
- Cite while you write with desktop library
|
Add references
|
- Direct export references from databases
- Drag and drop PDFs to EndNote with reference data
- Add references manually
- Capture online resources to EndNote Online
- "Find reference updates" function
|
- Export references from some databases
- Drag and drop PDFs to Mendeley with reference data
- Use web Importer to get references from databases/websites instantly
- Add references directly from Mendeley website
- Add references manually
|
- Export references from databases
- It is easier to use Zotero to collect references from websites.
- PDFs can be downloaded along with reference data
- Add references manually
- Snapshots of webpages are also saved with references
|
Save PDFs
|
- Import PDFs or PDF folders
- Import PDF folders automatically
- Drag and drop PDFs
- Use "Find full-text" to download PDFs with a DOI number
- PDF annotation
|
- Import PDFs using a Web importer
- Drag and drop PDFs
- Import PDF folders automatically
- PDF annotation in a Notebook
|
- Use browser connector to collect references from websites. PDFs are sometimes downloaded along with reference data
- Drag and drop PDFs/PDF folders to Zotero
|
Edit output styles
|
- Easy to edit output styles
|
|
- Use the CSL Visual Editor
|
Share & collaborate
|
- EndNote desktop library, including references, PDFs and annotation, can be shared with 100 people.
- EndNote Online - share groups of references
|
- AUT account: share references, PDFs and annotations with up to 100 people
- Free account: share groups with up to 25 people
|
- Share citations and documents with others using your online account
- As the size of a free Zotero account is only up to 300MB, sharing a large number of references/PDFs may need to pay for an extra data storage
|