Skip to main content

Hauora Māori (Māori Health): Tāngata

Maori health initiatives and health promotion

Kaituhi

Durie, M. (1998). Whaiora: Māori health development (2nd. ed.). Auckland, New Zealand: Oxford University Press.

  • Provides an overview of Māori perspectives on health and Māori public health. The Treaty of Waitangi, Māori health inequalities and health priorities are discussed. 

 

Durie, M. (2001). Mauri ora: The dynamics of Māori health. Auckland, New Zealand: Oxford University Press.

  • Examines the relationship between culture, identity, and socioeconomic factors to Māori health outcomes. 

 

Durie, M. (2003). Ngā kāhui pou: Launching Māori futures. Wellington, New Zealand: Huia Publishers.
Health chapters:

  • Chapter 2: Maui Pomare: First Māori doctor
  • Chapter 9: Te pae māhutonga: Mental health promotion for young Māori
  • Chapter 10: Māori health: Key determinants for the next Twenty-five years
  • Chapter 18: Indigeneity: Challenges for indigenous doctors

 

Pere, R. T. (1997). Te Wheke. A celebration of infinite wisdom. Gisborne, New Zealand, Ako Ako Global Learning New Zealand Ltd.

  • Describes and the defines the key concepts underlying the Te Wheke model. Includes definitions of the universe, aroha, mauri , mana, wairua, whanaungatanga, whenua and taha tinana.

Tohutohu Whaiara

Takoa = Te aka kumara o Aotearoa

  • A print directory of Māori organisations & resource people. Hauora and iwi organisations are included. Websites and contact details are provided. Copies of this directory are available AUT Library.

 

Iwi hapū names list (National Library of New Zealand)

  • A standardised list of terms for iwi and hapū in New Zealand. 

 

Citizens Advice Bureau - Community Directory 

  • Each iwi have a rununga or governing council. Search the Community Directory using the keyword rununga to locate the contact details of iwi rununga in your area. Iwi websites often contain information on hauora service providers, initiatives and health issues of specific concern to the local people. 
  • Search the Community Directory using the word hauora to locate Māori health care providers. 

 

Ministry of Health. (2018). Māori health provider directory. Retrieved from https://www.health.govt.nz/your-health/services-and-support/health-care-services/maori-health-provider-directory

  • A list of Māori health providers contracted to district health boards

 

Ministry of Health. (2019). Rongoā Māori: Traditional Māori healing. Retrieved from https://www.health.govt.nz/our-work/populations/maori-health/rongoa-maori-traditional-maori-healing

  • Rongoā Māori traditional healing is formulated in a Māori cultural context, in which the understanding of events leading to ill health and its impacts are addressed through a range of culturally bounded responses. These responses include rakau rongoā (native flora herbal preparations), mirimiri (massage) and karakia (prayer). 

 

Organisations of Māori health professionals