Hauora Māori (Māori Health): Find journal articles and books

Māori Subject Headings / Ngā Upoko Tukutuku (National Library of New Zealand)

Use this index to find standardised terms for subjects in te reo Māori. These subject headings encapsulate the Māori worldview about particular concepts or topics.  

Link to the Ngā Upoko Tukutuku / Māori Subject Headings index:  https://natlib.govt.nz/nga-upoko-tukutuku 

The Māori Subject Headings can be used in these AUT Library Search (Advanced Search), Index New Zealand and NewzText. 

Searching for subject headings

• Enter your search term into the search box
• Click Search Headings 
• A list of terms with scope notes will appear
• Click on a term to view the English equivalent and related terms in Māori. 

Example entry for Hauora:

National Library of New Zealand. (n.d.). Iwi hapū names list. Retrieved July 30, 2019, from https://natlib.govt.nz/iwi-hapu-names

• Search to find standardised terms for iwi and hapū in New Zealand. These terms can be used when searching in AUT Library Search and the following databases: NewzText and Index New Zealand.

Australia / New Zealand Reference Centre (EBSCO)

• ANZ Reference Centre contains Australian and New Zealand newspaper, magazine and selected journal articles. 

Go to: https://library.aut.ac.nz/ > Databases > Find by Title > Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre
 

Database tips

• Use quotation marks when searching for phrases. For example, "hauora maori" searches for hauora and maori next to each other in an article.
• Use an asterisk * when searching for variations on a root word. For example, child* searches for child, children and childhood in an article. 
• Use the TX All Text field option to search all parts of a journal article (including the title, authors, abstract, keywords and references). 
• Use the Abstract field option to search the abstract of a journal article. 
• Use the Email, Print or Save options to email, print or save an article. 
• Use the Cite option to help you reference an article. 
• To limit your search results to New Zealand, search using the phrase "new zealand" and select the GE Geographic Terms field option.  

Example search strategies for researching hauora Māori topics

Search 1: Use your first search to identify how much research there is on your main topic. In this example the main topic is hauora Māori.
In the search box enter:

"maori health" or "hauora maori" (TX All Text)
= 3,70+ search results

• Look through the first two pages of search results. Change your keywords if your search results do not relate to your topic. 
• Refine (reduce) your search results by using the Refine Results options on the left side of your screen. 
• For articles only, tick Academic Journals.
• To limit your search results to New Zealand, go to Subject and tick New Zealand. 

Search 2: Search for hauora Māori models. 

"maori health" or "hauora maori" (TX All Text)
AND model* (TX All Text)
= 680 search results (100+ are journal articles)

• Refine (reduce) your search results by using the Refine Results options on the left side of your screen. 
• For articles only, tick Academic Journals.
• To limit your search results to New Zealand, go to Subject and tick New Zealand. 

Search 3: Use the same keywords and change your search fields to Abstract
"maori health" or "hauora maori" (AB Abstract)
AND model* (AB Abstract)
= 4 search results (0 journal articles)

Other examples searches

"maori health" or "hauora maori" (TX All Text)
AND "treaty of waitangi" or "tiriti o waitangi" (TX All Text)
= 300+ search results (50+ are journal articles)

"maori health" or "hauora maori" (TX All Text)
AND "whare tapa wha" (TX All Text)
= 30+ search results (20+ are journal articles)

"maori health" or "hauora maori" (TX All Text)
AND "te pae mahutonga" (TX All Text)
= 2 search results (all are journal articles)

"maori health" or "hauora maori" (TX All Text)
AND "te wheke" (TX All Text)
= 8 search results (7 are journal articles)

"maori health" or "hauora maori" (TX All Text)
AND initiative* (TX All Text)
= 600+ search results (70+ are journal articles)

"maori health" or "hauora maori" (Abstract)
AND initiative* (Abstract)
= 16 search results (0 are journal articles)

(Search results current at November 2020)

NEWZTEXT - full text newspapers, magazine and news articles

NewzText is a collection of New Zealand newspapers, magazines, TNS reports, indexes and newswires.

Go to: https://library.aut.ac.nz/ > Databases > Find by Title > NewzText > Combined

Database tips

• You can only search one keyword or phrase per search box
• Use quotation marks when searching for phrases. For example, "hauora maori" searches for hauora and maori next to each other in an article.
• Use an asteriks when searching for variations on a root word. For example, child* searches for child, children and childhood in an article. 
• Use All to search all parts of a news article.
• Use the options in All collections to limit your search to a particular resource. 

Example search strategies for researching hauora Māori topics

Search 1: Use your first search to identify how much research there is on your main topic. In this example the main topic is hauora Māori.
In the search box enter:

"maori health" (All)
= 9000+ search results

"hauora maori"  (All)
= 270+ search results

Search 2: Search for hauora Māori models. 

"maori health" (All)
AND model* (All)
= 1,000+ search results

"hauora maori"  (All)
AND model* (All)
= 50+ search results

Other examples searches

"maori health" (All)
AND "treaty of waitangi" or tiriti (All)
= 4,900+ search results

"hauora maori"  (All)
AND "treaty of waitangi" or tiriti (All)
= 150 search results

"maori health" or "hauora maori" (All)
AND "whare tapa wha" (All)
= 80+ search results

"maori health" or "hauora maori"  (All)
AND initiative* (All)
= 1,300+ search results

"hauora maori" (All)
AND initiative (All)
= 40+ search results

(Search results current at November 2020)

INNZ (Index New Zealand)
INNZ is an index of articles from selected New Zealand journals, magazines and newspapers. Some are available full text, others are not. 

Go to: https://library.aut.ac.nz/ > Databases > Find by Title > INNZ - Index New Zealand > click on Advanced Search 

Database tips

• Use quotation marks when searching for phrases. For example, "hauora maori" searches for hauora and maori next to each other in an article.
• Use an asterisk when searching for variations on a root word. For example, child* searches for child, children and childhood in an article. 
• Use All to search all parts of a news article.
• Use the options in All collections to limit your search to a particular resource. 
• Use Subject to search using the Māori Subject Headings. Link to the Māori Subject Headings index: https://natlib.govt.nz/nga-upoko-tukutuku

Select: Index New Zealand

Search 1: Use your first search to identify how much research there is on your main topic. In this example the main topic is hauora Māori.
In the search box enter:

"maori health" (Any Field) (Any Type)
OR "hauora maori" (Any Field) 
= 600+ search results (40+ are journal articles)

Refine (reduce) the number of search results by using the Refine my results options. These include:

• Peer-reviewed Journals for articles reviewed by experts in that field.
• Resource Type > limits your search results to journal, research or newspaper articles.
• Journal Title > limits your search results to a particular journal, magazine or newspaper.
• Language > limits your results to articles in English or Māori.

Search 2: Search for hauora Māori models. 

"maori health" (Any Field) 
OR "hauora maori"  (Any Field)
AND model* (Any Field)
= 600+ search results (112 are journal articles)

Refine (reduce) the number of search results by using the Refine my results options. 

Search 3: Use the same keywords and change your search fields to Subject
"maori health" (Subject) 
OR "hauora maori"  (Subject)
AND model* (Any Field)
= 6 search results 

Search 4: Using the Māori subject heading rongoā

"rongoa" (Subject) (Any Type)
= 320+ search results (160 are articles)

Other examples searches

"maori health" (Any Field) 
OR "hauora maori"  (Any Field)
AND "treaty of waitangi" (Any Field)
= 600+ search results (280+ articles) 

"maori health" (Any Field) 
OR "hauora maori"  (Any Field)
AND "tiriti o waitangi" (Any Field)
= 600+ search results (280+ are articles)

"whare tapa wha" (Any Field)
= 30+ search results (19 are articles)

"maori health" (Any Field) 
AND "whare tapa wha" (Any Field)
= 8 search results (5 are articles)

"te pae mahutonga" (Any Field)
= 4 search results (2 are article)

"te wheke" (Any Field)
= 20 search results (11 are articles)

(Search results current at November 2020)

NIUPEPA: Maori Newspapers

This is a collection of historic newspapers published primarily for a Māori audience between 1842 and 1932. There were three main types of niupepa published; government sponsored, Māori initiated, and religious. Most newspapers are published in te reo Māori. English abstracts are available for some newspapers. Use this resource for researching the health status of Māori in the 19th and early 20th century. 

Go to: https://library.aut.ac.nz/ > Databases > Find by Title > Niupepa: Maori Newspapers > searched (full text) > select a search option from the menu

Search examples

hauora (Newspapers, All)

= 23 search results

maori health (English abstracts, All)

= 13 search results

(Search results current at November 2020)

CINAHL Complete and MEDLINE via EBSCO

• CINAHL Complete is a comprehensive source of journal articles relating to nursing and health care.
• MEDLINE via EBSCO is a medical research database that includes journal articles on medicine, nursing, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences.

Go to: https://library.aut.ac.nz/ > Databases > Find by Title > EBSCO Health databases
Tick CINAHL Complete and MEDLINE

Database tips

• Use quotation marks when searching for phrases. For example, "hauora maori" searches for hauora and maori next to each other in an article.
• Use an asteriks when searching for variations on a root word. For example, child* searches for child, children and childhood in an article. 
• Use the TX All Text field option to search all parts of a journal article (including the title, authors, abstract, keywords and references). 
• Use the Abstract field option to search the abstract of a journal article. 
• Use the Email, Print or Save options to email, print or save an article. 
• Use the Cite option to help you reference an article. 

Example search strategies for researching hauora Māori topics

Search 1: Use your first search to identify how much research there is on your main topic. In this example the main topic is hauora Māori.
In the search box enter:

"maori health" or "hauora maori" (TX All Text)
= 1,500+ search results

• Look through the first two pages of search results. Change your keywords if your search results do not relate to your topic. 
• Refine (reduce) your search results by using the Refine Results options on the left side of your screen. 
• For articles only, tick Journals and Academic Journals.
• To limit your search results to New Zealand, go to Geography and tick all of the New Zealand options. 

Search 2: Search for hauora Māori models. 

"maori health" or "hauora maori" (TX All Text)
AND model* (TX All Text)
= 590+ search results (560+ are journal articles)

• Refine (reduce) your search results by using the Refine Results options on the left side of your screen. 
• For articles only, tick Journals and Academic Journals.
• To limit your search results to New Zealand, go to Geography and tick all of the New Zealand options. 

Search 3: Use the same keywords and change your search fields to Abstract
"maori health" or "hauora maori" (Abstract)
AND model* (Abstract)
= 25 search results (all are journal articles)

Other examples searches

"maori health" or "hauora maori" (TX All Text)
AND "treaty of waitangi" or "tiriti o waitangi" (TX All Text)
= 210+ search results (200+ are journal articles)

"maori health" or "hauora maori" (TX All Text)
AND "whare tapa wha" (TX All Text)
= 60+ search results (most are journal articles)

"maori health" or "hauora maori" (TX All Text)
AND "te pae mahutonga" (TX All Text)
= 10+ search results (all are journal articles)

"maori health" or "hauora maori" (TX All Text)
AND "te wheke" (TX All Text)
= 17 search results (most are journal articles)

"maori health" or "hauora maori" (TX All Text)
AND initiative* (TX All Text)
= 320+ search results (290+ are journal articles)

"maori health" or "hauora maori" (Abstract)
AND initiative* (Abstract)
= 17 search results (all are journal articles)

(Search results current at November 2020)

SCOPUS

• Scopus covers a broad range of health care and social sciences. Use Scopus to research health topics with human behaviour, cultural or social focus. 

Go to: https://library.aut.ac.nz/ > Databases > Find by Title > Scopus
 

Database tips

• Click on the + sign to add extra rows to the search form
• Use quotation marks when searching for phrases. For example, "hauora maori" searches for hauora and maori next to each other in an article.
• Use an asteriks when searching for variations on a root word. For example, child* searches for child, children and childhood in an article. 
• Use the All Fields field option to search all parts of a journal article (including the title, authors, abstract, keywords and references). 
• Use the Article Title, Abstract, Keywords field option to search the title, abstract and keywords of a journal article. 
• Use the Email, Print or Save options to email, print or save an article. 
• Use the Cite option to help you reference an article. 

Example search strategies for researching hauora Māori topics

Search 1: Use your first search to identify how much research there is on your main topic. In this example the main topic is hauora Māori.
In the search box enter:

"maori health" or "hauora maori" (All Fields)
= 2,500+ search results

• Look through the first two pages of search results. Change your keywords if your search results do not relate to your topic. 
• Refine (reduce) your search results by using the Refine Results options on the left side of your screen. 
• For articles only, click on Document Type and tick Article.
• To limit your search results to New Zealand, click on Country/Territory and tick New Zealand. 

Search 2: Search for hauora Māori models. 

"maori health" or "hauora maori" (All Fields)
AND model* (All Fields)
= 1200+ search results (785 are journal articles)

• Refine (reduce) your search results by using the Refine Results options on the left side of your screen. 
• For articles only, click on Document Type and tick Article.
• To limit your search results to New Zealand, click on Country/Territory and tick New Zealand.

Search 3: Use the same keywords and change your search fields to Abstract
"maori health" or "hauora maori" (Article Title, Abstract, Keywords)
AND model* (Article Title, Abstract, Keywords)
= 40+ search results (30+ are journal articles)

Other examples searches

"maori health" or "hauora maori" (All Fields)
AND "treaty of waitangi" or "tiriti o waitangi" (All Fields)
= 430+ search results (300+ are journal articles)

"maori health" or "hauora maori" (All Fields)
AND "whare tapa wha" (All Fields)
= 50+ search results (40+ are journal articles)

"maori health" or "hauora maori" (All Fields)
AND "te pae mahutonga" (All Fields)
= 60+ search results (40+ are journal articles)

"maori health" or "hauora maori" (All Fields)
AND "te wheke" (All Fields)
= 50+ search results (30+ are journal articles)

"maori health" or "hauora maori" (All Fields)
AND initiative* (All Fields)
= 360+ search results (270+ are journal articles)

"maori health" or "hauora maori" (Article Title, Abstract, Keywords)
AND initiative* (Article Title, Abstract, Keywords)
= 24 search results (20+ are journal articles)

(Search results current at November 2020)

AUT GOOGLE SCHOLAR

• AUT Google Scholar provides access to full text journal articles.  

Go to: https://library.aut.ac.nz/ > AUT Google Scholar
 

Database tips

• Use quotation marks when searching for phrases. For example, "hauora maori" searches for hauora and maori next to each other in an article.
• Use an asteriks when searching for variations on a root word. For example, child* searches for child, children and childhood in an article. 
• Click on the article title to go to view the article.
• Use the Cited by option to view articles in which your article has been cited. 

Example search strategies for researching hauora Māori topics

Search 1: Use your first search to identify how much research there is on your main topic. In this example the main topic is hauora Māori.
In the search box enter:

"maori health" or "hauora maori"
= 1,200+ search results

Search 2: Search for hauora Māori models. 

 "hauora maori" models 
= 1,200+ search results

Other examples searches

"maori health" "treaty of waitangi" 
= 3,700+ search results

"hauora maori" "tiriti o waitangi"
=  260+ search results

"hauora maori"  tiriti 
= 300+ search results

"whare tapa wha" 
= 1,400+ search results

"hauora maori"  "whare tapa wha" 
= 160 search results

"maori health"  "whare tapa wha" 
= 900+ search results

"maori health"  initiatives 
= 4,900+ search results

"hauora maori"  initiatives 
= 850+ search results

(Search results current at November 2020)

NZResearch.org.nz
NZResearch provides access to a selection of theses and research papers from New Zealand universities

Go to: https://library.aut.ac.nz/ > Databases > Find by Title > NZResearch.org.nz

Example search strategies:
hauora
= 130+ search results

health models maori
= 280+ search results

durie maori health
= 20+ search results

hauora initiative
= 16 search results

"whanau ora"
= 27 search results

(Search results current at November 2020)

New Zealand university thesis repositories
Search individual universities for theses and research papers on your topic

• Auckland University of Technology (AUT) - Tuwhera
• Lincoln University - Research Archive
• Massey University - Massey Research Online
• The University of Auckland - ResearchSpace
• University of Canterbury - UC Research Repository
• University of Otago - OUR Archive
• University of Waikato - Research Commons
• Victoria University of Wellington - ResearchArchive

Taupua Waiora Centre for Māori Health Research (AUT)
Taupua Waiora Centre for Māori Health Research is part of the National Institute of Public Health and Mental Health Research. It is a multi-disciplinary research group specialising in hauora Māori. The mission of Taupua Waiora is to promote whānau ora, and positive health experiences for Māori whānau.

• Summaries of research findings
• Publications

Tōmaiora - Māori Health Research Group (University of Auckland)
Tōmaiora is a leading Māori Health Research Group based within Te Kupenga Hauora Māori (TKHM) (the Department of Māori Health), Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences, University of Auckland, New Zealand. TKHM is responsible for teaching, building capacity and capability and undertaking research in Māori health.
Seminar series includes: 

• Whanau rituals of encounter in combating health system barriers
• Developing Māori health and equity capability among health professionals: From ‘competence’ to ‘safety’
• Senior nurses understanding of health equity
• Addressing implicit bias in health care

Hei Hauhake Whakaaro (University of Auckland)
Te Kupenga Hauora Māori (the Department of Māori Health) developed this resource for postgraduate students and Tōmaiora researchers. This resource contains Māori health research underpinned by a kaupapa Māori framework. See Primary Māori Resources and Tōmaiora Theses and Dissertations. 

SHORE & Whariki Research Centre
We are two multidisciplinary research groups working in a Treaty of Waitangi partnership model to produce excellent research with the aim of improving health and wellbeing in Aotearoa, New Zealand and globally.

Te Rōpū Rangahau Hauora A Eru Pomare (University of Otago)
The Eru Pōmare Māori Health Research Centre engages in research into community development, policy advocacy, research dissemination and Māori health research workforce development

• Research projects
• Publications

Ngā Pae o te Māramatanga (Māori Centre of Research Excellence)
Ngā Pae o te Māramatanga undertakes research under the themes of Te Reo me Ngā Tikanga Māori (language and customs), Whai Rawa (the Māori economy), Te Tai Ao (the natural environment) and Mauri Ora (human flourishing).
Research projects include:

• The cost of doing nothing - Health inequities between Māori and non-Māori Adults in New Zealand
• Understanding and supporting whanau consent
• Practices of sustenance: Collaborative explorations into the contours of wellness: Cultural reflections and contentions
• Hospital transfers: Whanau involvement in the healing equation
• Connections and flows: Precarious Māori households in austere times

Whakauae Research for Māori Health and Development (Te Runanga o Ngāti Hauiti)
Whakauae focuses primarily on Māori public health research, evaluation and health services and health policy research. See their publications page for journal articles, book chapters, conference papers and theses. 

Māori Indigenous Health Institute (MIHI) (University of Otago)
The Māori/Indigenous Health Institute (MIHI) undertakes and supports research that explores Māori health inequities and building excellence in research evidence that contributes to Māori health advancement.

Health Services Research Centre (Victoria University of Wellington) 
The Health Services Research Centre focuses on the study of the health and disability needs of communities.

• Publications
• Projects

Health Research Council
Research related publications and policies including a regular newsletter, Panui, and guidelines which outline key information relating to Māori health research and funding applications. 

Ministry of Health

• Ministry of Health. (2020). Whakamaua: Māori Health Action Plan 2020-2025. https://www.health.govt.nz/publication/whakamaua-maori-health-action-plan-2020-2025
  This strategy document outlines the government’s direction for Māori health advancement over the next five years.

• Ministry of Health. (2020). Whatua: Engagement for the development the Māori Health Action Plan 2020-2025. https://www.health.govt.nz/publication/whatua-engagement-development-maori-health-action-plan-2020-2025
  This publication is a companion document to Whakamaua: Māori Health Action Plan 2020-2025. It provides a summary of the key themes emerging from community consultation about the plan in 2019.

• Ministry of Health. (2020). Te Tiriti o Waitangi framework. https://www.health.govt.nz/system/files/documents/pages/whakamaua-tiriti-o-waitangi-framework-a3-aug20.pdf 
  A framework outlining the Crown's Tiriti obligations underpinning the Whakamaua: Māori Health Action Plan 2020–2025.

• Ministry of Health. (2018). Māori health. Retrieved from https://www.health.govt.nz/our-work/populations/maori-health

• Ministry of Health. (2002). He Korowai Oranga: Māori Health Strategy. Retrieved from https://www.health.govt.nz/publication/he-korowai-oranga-maori-health-strategy
  The original document was published in 2002 in English and Māori. The Strategy was updated in 2014. 

• Ministry of Health. (2014). The Guide to He Korowai Oranga – Māori Health Strategy. Retrieved from https://www.health.govt.nz/publication/guide-he-korowai-oranga-maori-health-strategy
  Available in English and Māori. 

• Ministry of Health. (2015). Māori health models. Retrieved from https://www.health.govt.nz/our-work/populations/maori-health/maori-health-models

• Ministry of Health. (2017). Ministry of Health reports on Māori health outcomes and disparity in outcomes between Māori and non-Māori from 1992 to 2016. Retrieved from https://www.health.govt.nz/system/files/documents/pages/ministry_of_health_reports_on_maori_health_outcomes.pdf

• Ministry of Health. (2018). Māori health data and stats. Retrieved from https://www.health.govt.nz/nz-health-statistics/health-statistics-and-data-sets/maori-health-data-and-stats?mega=Health%20statistics&title=M%C4%81ori%20health

• Ministry of Health. (2015). Tatau Kahukura: Māori health statistics. Retrieved from https://www.health.govt.nz/our-work/populations/maori-health/tatau-kahukura-maori-health-statistics
  Health status indicators, socioeconomic determinants, risk and preventative factors, health service use, years of life lost. 

Example District Health Board Māori health plans

• Northland District Health Board. (n.d.). Māori health plan 2016-17. Retrieved July 30, 2019, from https://www.northlanddhb.org.nz/assets/Communications/Publications/Northland-DHB-Maori-Health-Plan-2016-17-FINAL.pdf
   
• Counties Manukau Health. See: https://www.countiesmanukau.health.nz/about-us/performance-and-planning/planning-documents/ > Population Health Planning and Report > Maaori Health
   
• Auckland District Health Board., & Waitemata District Health Board. (n.d.). 2017-18 Māori Health Plan Auckland and Waitemata District Health Boards. Retrieved July 30, 2019, from https://www.waitematadhb.govt.nz/assets/Documents/health-plans/2017-18-Maori-Health-Plan-Auckland-and-Waitemata-DHBs.pdf
   
• Bay of Plenty District Health Board. See: cultural safety - Māori (statement and standards), 
  Whanau Ora position statement, position statement on Te Tiriti o Waitangi, health equity and racism, Te Toi Ahorangi 2030 - the Toi Ora Strategy of Te Rūnanga Hauora Māori o Te Moana a Toi (fully endorsed by the Bay of Plenty District Health Board).
   
• Waikato District Health Board. (2015). Māori health policy. https://www.waikatodhb.health.nz/assets/Docs/About-Us/Key-Publications/Policies/5648a162a7/Maori-Health-policy.pdf

Statistics New Zealand

• Statistics New Zealand. (n.d.). Māori. Retrieved July 30, 2019, from https://www.stats.govt.nz/topics/maori
  Census statistics for Māori living in New Zealand.

• Statistics New Zealand. (n.d.). 2013 Census iwi profiles. Retrieved July 30, 2019, from https://www.stats.govt.nz/tools/2013-census-iwi-profiles
  Iwi individual profiles and iwi grouping profiles give you information on topics such as age and sex, language, religion, and housing. 

• Statistics New Zealand. (2016). Te Ao Mārama 2016 (English). Retrieved from http://archive.stats.govt.nz/browse_for_stats/snapshots-of-nz/te-ao-marama-2016.aspx
  Māori well-being and development from a Māori perspective

• Statistics New Zealand. (2013). 2013 Census QuickStats about Māori. Retrieved from https://www.stats.govt.nz/reports/2013-census-quickstats-about-maori
  This resource gives you useful facts about Māori people living in New Zealand, and shows how life has changed for this ethnic group since 2006. Find out about: population, age and sex, location, Māori language, education, work and income, and number of children born.

• Statistics New Zealand. (n.d.). NZ.Stat. Retrieved July 30, 2019, from https://www.stats.govt.nz/tools/nz-dot-stat
  Data tables on a variety of topics including demographics, cigarette smoking, disability, housing, injury, and speakers of te reo Māori. Arranged by age and ethnic group. 

• Statistics New Zealand. (n.d.). Infoshare. Retrieved July 30, 2019, from https://www.stats.govt.nz/tools/stats-infoshare
  Data tables for population (pregnancy, fertility rates, birth rates, deaths, life expectancy, marriage and divorce) and health (abortion statistics). Arranged by age and ethnic group. 

• Statistics New Zealand.  Ngā Tūtohu Aotearoa – Indicators Aotearoa New Zealand (wellbeing statistics) and Wellbeing Data for New Zealanders (wellbeing indicators). Includes health and wellbeing data for Maori and non-Maori.

New Zealand journals with hauora Māori content

Māori Health Review
​The Māori Health Review is a research-based online publication funded by the Ministry of Health. It features key medical articles from global journals with commentary from Dr Matire Harwood. The Māori Health covers topics such as maori health policy, health inequalities, indigenous health outcomes, obesity, diabetes, immunisation, and smoking cessation.

AlterNative: An International Journal of Indigenous Peoples
AlterNative publishes scholarly research on Indigenous worldviews and experiences of decolonisation from Indigenous perspectives from around the world. 

Example articles:

• Pasifika Youth Empowerment Programme: A potential public health approach in tackling obesity-health related issues.
• Health literacy in action: Kaupapa Māori evaluation of a cardiovascular disease medications health literacy intervention.
• Systems thinking and indigenous systems: Native contributions to obesity prevention.
• Māori health promotion: Challenges for best practice.
• The Treaty and “Treating” Māori health: Politics, policy and partnership.
• E Kore E Ngāro Ngā Kakano I ruia Mai i Rangiātea: The language and culture from Rangiātea will never be lost in health and ageing research.
• Developing a Kaupapa Māori research project to help reduce health disparities experienced by young Māori women and their babies.

MAI Journal: A New Zealand Journal of Indigenous Scholarship
MAI Journal is an open access journal that publishes multidisciplinary peer-reviewed articles that critically analyse and address indigenous and Pacific issues in the context of Aotearoa New Zealand.

Example articles:

• Rebuilding a ‘whare’ body of knowledge to inform ‘a’ Māori perspective of health. 
• Whā​nau-centred health and social service delivery in New Zealand: The challenges to, and opportunities for, innovation.
• ’Education’s not going to get you pregnant’
• What you can't see can hurt you: How do stereotyping, implicit bias and stereotype threat affect Māori health?