Papakupu - Māori dictionaries
- Te Aka Māori-English, English-Māori DictionaryDeveloped from vocabulary used in the Te Whanake textbook series, expanded into a full online and print dictionary to support learners of te reo. Highly recommended for beginners.
- Ngata Dictionary (Māori-English and English-Māori)Online version of the Ngata Dictionary, first published in 1993. Contains Tairāwhiti (East Coast) spelling variants. Previously hosted by educational publisher Learning Media; now available from the retail website of educational supplier MTS.
- Wakareo ā-ipurangi This link opens in a new windowWakareo ā-ipurangi is a compilation of a large number of separate Māori-English and English-Māori dictionary, lexicon, and word-list resources. Suitable for intermediate to advanced speakers of te reo.
A dictionary of the Maori Language by Call Number: 499.4423 WILISBN: 9781869560454Publication Date: 19717th (final) edition of the classic Māori dictionary, first published in 1844. Good source for traditional vocabulary, but may not include more contemporary words.
Useful websites
- Te Ipukarea: National Maori Language InstituteTe Ipukarea Research Institute was established in 2008, and is hosted by AUT. The main focus of Te Ipukarea's research is Māori language, culture, and knowledge. Includes Te Whare o Rongomaurikura, the Centre for Language Revitalisation.
- Te WhanakeFree online resources for independent learning of te reo Māori, designed to support the Te Whanake textbooks and study guides.