Kaupapa Māori and Indigenous research: selected works
Decolonizing Methodologies: Research and Indigenous Peoples by Call Number: EbookExplores intersections of imperialism and research – specifically, the ways in which imperialism is embedded in disciplines of knowledge and tradition as 'regimes of truth'. Concepts such as 'discovery' and 'claiming' are discussed and an argument presented that the decolonisation of research methods will help to reclaim control over Indigenous ways of knowing and being.
- Hei Hauhake WhakaaroAn annotated bibliography of academic discussion on Kaupapa Māori research, created by the Tōmaiora Māori Health Research Group at the University of Auckland. Aimed at postgraduate students and researchers.
- Te Wāhanga (NZCER)The New Zealand Council for Educational Research's Māori research centre. Offers links to publications and research project information.
Maori Philosophy by Call Number: 199.9308999442 STEISBN: 9781350101654Publication Date: 2020Covering the symbolic systems and worldviews of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, New Zealand, this book is a concise introduction to Maori philosophy. It addresses core philosophical issues including Maori notions of the self, the world, and epistemology.
Critical conversations in Kaupapa Maori by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781775503408Publication Date: 2017Kaupapa Māori theory and methodology developed over twenty years ago and have since become influential in social research, practice and policy areas. This collection furthers knowledge about kaupapa Māori by examining its effects over the decades, identifying and discussing its conventions and boundaries and reflecting on kaupapa Māori in social and educational research and practice.
Indigenous Methodologies by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781442697645Publication Date: 2009Guidance to those conducting research in the academy using Indigenous methodologies. Kovach includes topics such as Indigenous epistemologies, decolonizing theory, story as method, situating self and culture, Indigenous methods, protocol, meaning-making, and ethics.
Indigenous Epistemology by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781433173066Publication Date: 2020Explores experiential pedagogy as a tool to decolonize research methodology and honor the inter-generational stories that empower Indigenous people across the globe.
Braiding Sweetgrass by Call Number: 305.897 KIMISBN: 9781571313355Publication Date: 2013A weaving of indigenous knowledge, plant science, and personal narrative from a distinguished professor of science and a Native American whose previous book, Gathering Moss, was awarded the John Burroughs Medal for outstanding nature writing
Tikanga Māori: selected works
Tikanga: An introduction to te ao Māori by Call Number: 305.899442 OPAISBN: 9781990003172Publication Date: 2021Keri Opai shares the spirit and meaning of what it is to be Maori in the 21st century, dispelling myths and misconceptions and providing a solid introduction to the Maori way of life.
Tikanga Māori: Living by Māori values by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781775503200Publication Date: 2016Revised edition of the classic text , an authoritative and accessible introduction to understanding the correct Māori ways of doing things as they were done in the past, as they are done in the present – and as they may yet be done.
Tangata Whenua: An illustrated history by Call Number: 993.00499442 ANDISBN: 9781927131411Publication Date: 2014Tangata Whenua portrays the sweep of Maori history from Pacific origins to the twenty-first century. Through narrative and images, it offers an overview of the past, grounded in specific localities and histories.
Te kōparapara: an introduction to the Māori world by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781775589327Publication Date: 2018In twenty-one illustrated chapters, leading scholars introduce Māori culture (including tikanga on and off the marae and key rituals like pōwhiri and tangihanga), Māori history (from the beginning of the world and the waka migration through to Māori protest and urbanisation in the twentieth century), and Māori society today (including twenty-first century issues like education, health, political economy and identity).
Tikanga Whakaaro by Call Number: 305.8994 BARISBN: 9780195582123Publication Date: 1991Important concepts in Maori culture are defined and discussed in short essay-style definitions in both English and Maori. The traditional knowledge of the ware wananga (school of learning) is drawn upon, and modern usage of Maori language is also described.
Useful databases and search tools
- Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowThe Australia/NZ Reference Centre combines Australia and New Zealand specific magazines, newspapers & newswires, reference books, and company information to create a large collection of regional full text material.
- BWB Te Pouhere Kōrero: Māori History, Māori People This link opens in a new windowExplores the rich narratives of Māori and Indigenous history. Covering a wide range of topics, the collection provides a valuable resource for research on the history and culture of Aotearoa New Zealand.
- Ethnographic Video Online Volume III: Indigenous Voices This link opens in a new windowAnthropological documentaries and ethnographic films from around the world, focussed on Indigenous communities.
- Informit Humanities & Social Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary academic collection with broad subject coverage including Aboriginal and Indigenous studies, arts, history, law, literary studies, media, political science and sociology.
- Kanopy Video Streaming This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary video streaming database. Browse to Global Studies & Languages > Indigenous Studies for documentaries about Indiigenous peoples worldwide.
- Niupepa: Maori Newspapers This link opens in a new windowA collection of historic newspapers published primarily for a Māori audience between 1842 and 1932. The niupepa collection consists of over 17,000 pages taken from 34 separate periodicals. 70% of the collection is written solely in Māori, 27% is bilingual and about 3% is written in English. There were three main types of niupepa published; government sponsored, Māori initiated, and religious.
- Papers Past This link opens in a new windowPapers Past contains more than one million pages of digitised New Zealand newspapers and periodicals. The collection covers the years 1839 to 1920 and includes publications from all regions of New Zealand.
- SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new windowA research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SRM links to SAGE’s book, journal, case study, reference and video content with advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SRM focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.
- Digital NZA search hub for historical pictures, sound files, videos, texts and objects from New Zealand’s archives, galleries, libraries and museums. Useful for historical photos and newspaper articles relating to places, communities, and buildings.
- Digital PasifikSearch items of digitised cultural heritage from Pacific peoples that are held in gallery, musuem and archival collections around the world.
- FindNZarticlesSearch FindNZarticles for articles by or about New Zealanders, published in New Zealand newspapers and journals. Scroll down the homepage to see the range of different sources available.
- Māori Land Court Minutes Book IndexSearchable index to Māori Land Court minute books for cases heard between 1865 and 1910.
- Te Pātaka Mātauranga MāoriOnline storehouse of Māori resources from Ako Aotearoa, who support tertiary educators with research and professional development.
Useful journals
- AlterNative: An International Journal of Indigenous PeoplesPeer-reviewed, interdisciplinary journal, publishing scholarly research on Indigenous worldviews and experiences of decolonisation from Indigenous perspectives around the world.
- BWB Te Pouhere Kōrero: Māori History, Māori People This link opens in a new windowExplores the rich narratives of Māori and Indigenous history. Covering a wide range of topics, the collection provides a valuable resource for research on the history and culture of Aotearoa New Zealand.
- The Journal of the Polynesian SocietyFounded in 1892, contains early New Zealand scholarship on Māori and Pacific people and cultures that is of historical interest, although written mostly from a British, colonial point of view.
- MAI JournalPeer-reviewed, open access, online journal of New Zealand Indigenous scholarship.
- Te Kaharoa: The E-journal on Indigenous Pacific IssuesAn open access, multi-disciplinary, peer refereed, online journal with a focus on Indigenous issues in the Pacific region. It is supported by Te Ara Poutama – the Faculty of Māori and Indigenous Development – at AUT University.