EndNote

When you export references from databases into your EndNote library or enter references manually, you should always check each reference record carefully and edit any incorrect fields to ensure all references are displayed in a correct output style.

Preview your references

• Highlight one of the newly entered or imported reference in All References panel
• EndNote X9: select the Preview tab in the References panel: 

• EndNote 21: click Summary on the right column:

• Review each reference output:  
  • Note any missing information that needs to be entered, eg. Book edition number, article volume/issue/page numbers
  • Note any extra information displaying that is not necessary, eg. [Article] at the end of an article title. These will need to be removed from the record
  • Check author names are displaying correctly
  • Change capitalisation to meet your reference style standards
  • Correct any typos e.g. spelling, or incorrect volume or issue number
  • You may also add information to Notes and keywords to enhance retrieval for specific processes or research interests.

Example:

Macintosh Endnote X9 edit screen

You can add PDFs to associated references in your EndNote library. Attaching PDF's to your references in EndNote is highly recommended. There are two methods to do this:

Adding using Find Full Text

The Find Full Text function searches for full text PDF files of articles and can automatically attach them to the record in your EndNote library.

Note: This works for journal articles (preferably with DOI numbers). Find Full Text works better on campus than remotely, but even then some full text articles may be missed.

• Open your library and highlight the records you want to find full text PDFs for
  •  <Ctrl + L Mouse> to highlight several individual records, or Select first record + <Shift + L Mouse> last record to select a range

• Select References > Find Full Text > Find Full Text o or click this icon or in EndNote20

Depending on how many references you have selected, the search for full text may take several minutes. The results will be displayed in the left-hand panel like this:

 or in EN20 

Retrieved PDFs will be added automatically to the references panel. The paperclip icon indicates that a PDF is attached to the article:

If no full text document is found a URL is sometimes added to the record instead.

Watch this short video: Find Full Text

Adding a saved PDF

also known as: Manually attaching a PDF

If you have a PDF saved on your computer, you can attach it to a reference already listed in your EndNote library:

• Select (highlight) the reference and then click References > File Attachments > Attach File
• In the pop-up, navigate to the PDF’s file location and select the PDF
• Click Open and the PDF will be attached to the reference within your EndNote Library
• To prompt to Save you must click away from the highlighted reference

EndNote 20:

• Click the reference in the reference panel 
• On the right Summary column, click the Attach file button, find the PDF in your computer and attach it to the reference.
• This short video show you how to attach a file to a reference record. 

Open URL

OpenURL will help you find full text from the databases AUT subscribes to and attach the PDFs to references in your EndNote library. The address of the AUT open URL is: https://resolver.ebscohost.com.ezproxy.aut.ac.nz/openurl 

On your EndNote library, click Edit > Preferences. On the Preferences box, select Find Full Text. Enter AUT Open URL to the OpenURL Path, and click OK to save this change.

Annotate a PDF

Watch this video: EndNote 20 (Windows) annotating PDF files.

EndNote templates contain a lot of unused fields which can be used to add additional information for a specific task or purpose. 

• Added details can be searched by the EndNote search function
• You can add as much or as little data as you like
• Be consistent in what you enter, to ensure searches find all relevant references

Examples of commonly used fields are list below.

Keywords

• Use this field to highlight important concepts – single words or phrases – in the reference
• The database the record came from may prefill this field, or you can create entirely new ones
• You may create your own list of keywords for categorising the references in your Library
• Keywords and phrases can be entered on separate lines, or separated by a semi-colon or backslash

Notes and Research Notes

You can use Notes or Research Notes fields to add information for each reference. As both fields are very similar, it is important to:

• decide which type of information will be recorded in each of these notes fields
• Consistency is key. Use the same field for the same type of information, and use the exact same words each time

Examples for adding Notes in Notes or Research Notes:

• Filing number or location of a hard copy document
• Thesis chapter or project the reference relates to. For example, Chapter 5, or Sydney conference paper
• A reminder, such as Request by Interloan
• Your reason for importing the reference, such as Cited in Smithers, or Recommended by Bloggs
• A direct quotation you intend to use (including the exact page number/s)

With EndNote you can edit multiple references at the same time. For example, you might want to add information to the notes or keywords fields of several references.

The following example shows how to add some identical text to multiple references:

• Highlight the first reference you would like to add this note, hold down the <Ctrl> key and select other references
• Select References > Show Selected References
• EndNote X9: go to Tools > Change/Move/Copy Fields
• EndNote 20: go to Library > Change/Move/Copy Fields
• Select Change Fields and then Research Notes from the dropdown list

• Select Insert after field’s text: and enter your note in the box on the right
• Click OK to confirm the changes

Note: Be careful using Replace whole field with. Using this option will delete any existing notes in the selected field in all selected references.

If you have some incomplete references in your EndNote, e.g. without a DOI number, or a reference without volume/issue numbers, you may use the Find reference updates to update these references.

• Select the references requiring an update
• Go to References > Find Reference Updates

• A pop-up box will appear that compares the located record in the Available Updates column and the record in My Reference of your EndNote library. Fields contained different information are highlighted. You can add the new information to the record in My Reference by selecting one of three options in the middle of this pop-up box:

• This reference contains two missing fields:  DOI and Alternate Journal. You can select Update Empty Fields to add additional information to My Reference
• Click Save and Continue
• If you don't want to update a suggested field, click the Skip bottom