Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Get Published

A guide to publishing research. This guide is designed to assist emerging researchers and update experienced researchers.

Seek advice

Choosing the most appropriate journal for your article is very important.

Seek advice from your colleagues, supervisors and your research community

  • Your colleagues may give you good suggestions on the journals they have published in
  • Seek guidance from your supervisors
  • You may also find the discussion among your research community helpful
  • Talk to your liaison librarian  

Think, check, submit

The Think,Check, Submit website provides a checklist for assessing the credentials of a journal or publisher.

Identifying suitable journals via a database search

Search databases on your research topic:

Find where the most cited articles are published

  • Sort the results by "Cited by" or "Times cited" to see the top articles with the highest number of citations
  • Check which journals they were published in

 

Publish open access  

Open access publishing often means your research will reach wider audience and increase your research impact to both research community and the general public. Open access articles are generally get higher citation rates than the articles published in subscription journals. 

  • Select a type of open access that suits your publication
  • Paying an article processing charge (APC) for getting published in OA journals is normally required by journals. However, there are journals do not charge APC fees. Details about APC charges can be found on publishers' websites, the SHERPA RoMEO website and the Directory of Open Access Journals  
  • AUT researchers may publish open access with the journals we have had a Read and Publish agreement with 
  • Avoid publishing with predatory journals - publishing with these journals may damage your research reputation

Match your abstract to a journal

Evaluate a chosen journal

Once you have chosen a journal or a number of journals for consideration, a further research on each journal is another important step. Consider the following aspects:

Learn more about a chosen journal from its website

  • Submission requirements
  • Refereed/peer-reviewed
  • The journal may focus on a particular research field that doesn't match your research 
  • Browse recent articles to identify the journal's current interests
  • Find out whether the journal has published articles that are similar to yours
  • What are the restrictions? A journal may not accept a certain type of articles
  • Open access option
  • Acceptance rates and publication timelines
  • Mission statement, scope and policy
  • Editor and the editorial board
  • Read Authors' guide carefully and ensure that your article has met the requirements of the journal, e.g. format, referencing style.
  • Copyright/license agreement and possible author's fee charge
  • Can you archive your article in a research repository? This will make your article to be widely read and cited
  • Is the journal a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE)?
  • Is this journal a member of Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association?

Is the journal discoverable?

Check whether articles in your chosen journal or the journal can be found by the following databases or websites::

Read reviews shared by other researchers

The following tools provide reviews on journals shared by researchers around the World:

  • JournalReviewer - provide user experience with academic journals' review processes
  • SciRev - researchers share their experience with scientific review process
  • Quality Open Access market - using journal score cards, QOAM is a market place for scientific and scholarly open access journals

Check publishers' policies on copyright, archiving and the APC charge

  • SHEPA/RoMEO: search for publishers' copyright and self-archiving policies as well as APC charges 
  • DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals): find article process charge (APC) fee by journals indexed in DOAJ 

Predatory journals

There are some publishers acting unethically especially when it comes to OA journal publishing. The following common signs of predatory journals may help you identify these journals:

  • misleading metrics
  • hijacked version of other well published journals
  • fake editorial boards, or names and affiliations of the editorial board members are not presented clearly
  • claimed to be indexed by key databases or Directory of Open Access Journals when they are not
  • reproduce articles from other academic journals
  • charge APC fees to publish a manuscript in a short time, e.g. 2-4 weeks.
  • send spam emails to invite researchers to publish articles with their journals
  • unprofessional website, e.g. poor writing, with commercials advertisements, unclear location
  • a journal title may be "American journal of ...", but the location of the publisher is in an Asia country
  • some of these journals are published in a website that contains a large number of open access journals across a wide range of disciplines

You may like to read the following recent studies on the issues of the increasing number of predatory open access journals:

Check and avoid publishing in predatory journals