Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
It's not always easy to find and reference high-quality images for use in your studies. Here are some resources to help you:
Finding great images
A list of places to search for high-quality images, with useful search and filtering tools, especially for determining usage rights.
Citing images in APA style
A brief guide to citing images in APA style. Includes figure captions and reference list entries.
Citing images in Chicago/Turabian style
A brief guide to citing images in Chicago/Turabian (Notes-Bibliography) style. Includes figure captions and footnote citations.
Artstor Digital Library
The Artstor Digital Library is an image database featuring a large range of images from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository.
Oxford Art Online
Art reference works on ancient to contemporary art and architecture, including the Benezit Dictionary of Artists.
New Zealand images
Digital NZ is an access portal for digital collections from all over New Zealand: content from libraries, museums, galleries, government departments, the media and community groups. There are over 30 million digital items to discover for free, including interviews, video, maps, photographs, audio and artworks.
Te Papa Collections Online
From Te Papa Tongarewa, the Museum of NZ, Collections Online has information on over 500,000 artworks, objects and specimens from Te Papa’s collections, from dinosaur teeth to contemporary art, as well as information on people, places, topics, species, and research from curators. There are also over 30,000 images available for download and re-use in high resolution.
Film and video
Kanopy Video Streaming
A broad selection of over 13,000 streaming films, documentaries and training videos from over 800 producers.
Filmakers Library Online
Award-winning documentaries with a strong focus on justice and international human rights.
New Zealand Film Archive
A diverse collection of moving image and audio items, along with related publicity materials and documentation.
NZ on Screen
An online showcase of NZ television, film, music video and web series. Includes current and historical content on NZ designers and artists - from fashion design to architecture.
LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com)
Online skills training platform with thousands of videos on a broad range of topics, including technical design skills and design principles.
Questions about finding and using images?
For more help please contact: