Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LaTeX

A high-quality typesetting system and an AUT thesis template.

About LaTeX

LaTeX

is a high-quality type-setting tool for producing academic writing, including journal articles, conference papers, and your AUT thesis.

About Overleaf

Overleaf

is a secure, interactive on-line writing environment that makes it easy to create beautiful LaTeX documents. Overleaf encourages you to concentrate on writing your content  while LaTeX takes care of all the style and formatting  to provide you with high-quality publications.

The student plan is free. It allows one collaborator.  For more check the Overleaf plans

About bibliography and citation files

BibLaTeX and Biber

BibLaTeX is a complete reimplementation of the bibliographic facilities provided by LaTeX.  BibLaTeX uses its own data backend program called “biber” to read and process the bibliographic data. 

The new version of the AUT Thesis Template uses BibLateX and biber instead of BibTeX.  For now, both versions are running but the new template has a range of bibliographic options for various requirements. 

BibLATEX – Sophisticated Bibliographies in LATEX - CTAN

Bibliography management with biblatex - Overleaf

BibTeX

BibTeX is a bibliographic tool that is used with LaTeX.  A BibTeX file will a compile a bibliography.  The file is separate from the LaTeX source file, with a file extension of .bib.  Each reference in the .bib file is formatted with a certain structure and is has a "key" that is referred to in the source .tex file.