Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Te Ara Poutama: Māori and Indigenous development

Nau mai haere mai - Welcome

Kia ora and welcome to the Te Ara Poutama Library subject guide! Here you will find help with searching for information and using Library resources.

Searching for information

You can book a consultation with Elwyn, the Te Ara Poutama Liaison Librarian, for help with your search strategy.

Find books & ebooks

Use Library Search to find books and ebooks from the AUT Library collection.

Put some useful keywords or phrases into the search box (remember to put phrases in quotation marks), and click Search

 

From the options in Combined Results, choose Books & media > See all results

More help with using ebooks from the AUT Library

Find articles

Library Search

Library Search searches most of our library databases at once. So it is a great place to search for:

  • academic journal articles and conference papers
  • industry journal articles
  • newspaper and magazine articles

Put some useful keywords or phrases into the search box (put phrases in quotation marks), and click Search

 

From the options in Combined Results, choose Articles & more > See all results

More help with searching for journal articles

Google Scholar

You can also use Google Scholar to find academic articles, book chapters and conference proceedings. 

Always begin with AUT Google Scholar on the Library website. This will give you more access to full text information, for free.

If you see AUT articlelinker in your results, follow the links to find the full text in a Library database.

Library databases

Getting too many results from Library Search or Google Scholar? You can focus your search by searching for articles in specific library databases. Check the other pages in this guide to find useful databases, journals, and other resources that focus on different areas of study.

Find images

See the Find images guide for help finding high-quality images that you can reproduce in your academic work. 

Find statistics

You might need to find statistics to support your arguments or discussion in assessments.

Our Find statistical data guide contains links to many useful sources of national and international statistics. Check out the Te ao Māori section, in particular.

For iwi statistics, Te Whata is a useful tool. Te Whata is a data platform tailored specifically by iwi, for iwi. It gathers iwi data from multiple sources (including Stats NZ), and provides useful visualisations of key data points.

Figure.nz is another good source for New Zealand data on a broad range of topics. It provides clear charts of publicly available data, with good metadata (information about the data and the data source). Most of the charts are Creative Commons licensed, meaning you can use them freely in your work, as long as you provide attribution.

Borrow from other libraries

If the AUT library does not hold the book or article you need, you may be able to interloan it (borrow it from another library). 

Interloan options

Academic writing support

For help with your academic writing, you can book into workshops or make an appointment with our Learning Advisors to discuss assessments.

Academic support options available from the Library