Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Architecture

Library resources for AUT Architecture students

Nau mai, haere mai - Welcome

Welcome to the Architecture Library subject guide! Here you will find help with searching for information and using Library resources.

Browsing the Library shelves

You'll find most of the hardcopy books on architecture and related disciplines in the City Campus Library, on Level 6. They are arranged on the shelves by call number. Ask a librarian if you need help finding books on the shelf!

Example of a call number

Useful call numbers to browse

Architecture (general): 720
Architectural philosophy: 720.1
Architectural models: 720.22
Architectural drawing: 720.294
Architecture and environment: 720.47
Architects: 720.92
Architectural history -- New Zealand: 720.993
Architectural styles: 722
Architectural design and decoration: 729
Interior design: 747

Related subject areas by call number

Communities and urban design: 307
Building construction: 690-699
Building materials: 691
Colour: 535.6
Design theory: 745.4
Human ecology: 304.2
Landscape architecture: 712
Materials science: 620.112
Perspective in drawing: 742
Specification writing: 692.3
Structural design: 624
Urban and area planning: 711

Don't forget to also use Library Search to find ebooks and articles on your topic. The books on the shelf are only a small part of our collections.

Searching for information

You can book a consultation with Elwyn Sheehan or Anna Matich, the Future Environments Liaison Librarians, for help with your search strategy.

Or you can book into a Library workshop to learn more about Library resources and effective searching.

The National Library of New Zealand has a useful Architecture Research Guide with information about their collections: images of buildings, building plans (mostly from the Wellington region), books and articles about architecture; as well as advice on finding information about marae, land and property.

Find books & ebooks

Use Library Search to find books and ebooks from the AUT Library collection.

Put some useful keywords or phrases into the search box (remember to put phrases in quotation marks), and click Search

Library Search box on the AUT library website


From the options in Combined Results, choose Books & media > See all results

Books & Media on the Librayr website

More help with using ebooks from the AUT Library

Find articles

Library Search

Library Search searches most of our library databases at once. So it is a great place to search for:

  • academic journal articles
  • industry journal articles
  • newspaper and magazine articles

Put some useful keywords or phrases into the search box (put phrases in quotation marks), and click Search

 

From the options in Combined Results, choose Articles & more > See all results

Articles & more on the Library website

More help with searching for journal articles

Google Scholar

You can also use Google Scholar to find academic articles, book chapters and conference proceedings. 

Always begin with AUT Google Scholar on the Library website. This will give you more access to full text information, for free.

If you see AUT articlelinker in your results, follow the links to find the full text in a Library database.

Library databases & journals

Getting too many results from Library Search or Google Scholar? You can focus your search by searching for articles in specific library databases or in key journals

Find legislation

For more New Zealand legal information, see the Law subject guide

Find standards

See the Standards and Patents guide for information about finding and using standards.

Find images

See the Find images guide for help finding high-quality images that you can reproduce in your academic work. 

Find information on places in Auckland

Find statistics

You might need to find statistics to support your rationale for a design project, or to incorporate into the work itself.

Our Find statistical data guide contains links to many useful sources of national and international statistics.

Figure.nz is another good source for New Zealand data on a broad range of topics. It provides clear charts of publicly available data, with good metadata (information about the data and the data source). Most of the charts are Creative Commons licensed, meaning you can use them freely in your work, as long as you provide attribution.

Borrow from other libraries

If the AUT library does not hold the book or article you need, you may be able to interloan it (borrow it from another library). 

Interloan options

Academic writing support

For help with your academic writing, you can book into workshops or make an appointment with our Learning Advisors to discuss assessments.

Academic support options available from the Library

You might also find this little book useful - it's a quick but helpful read!

Related Library guides