Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art & Design

Library resources for AUT Art & Design students

Nau mai, haere mai - Welcome

Welcome to the Art & Design Library subject guide! General library resources for art and design students are listed below. To find subject-specific resources on different areas of art and design, check the discipline pages in this guide.

Searching for information

For more help, you can book an appointment with Elwyn, the Art & Design Liaison Librarian.

Browsing the Library shelves

You'll find most of the hardcopy books on art, design and related disciplines in the City Campus Library, on Level 6. They are arranged on the shelves by call number. Ask a librarian if you need help finding books on the shelf!

Example of a call number

Useful call numbers to browse

Philosophy and theory of art: 700.1
Art history: 709
Landscape architecture: 710s
Architecture: 720s
Sculpture: 730s
Graphic and decorative arts: 740s
Graphic design, illustration: 741.6
Industrial design: 745.2
Interior design: 747
Painting: 750s
Printmaking: 760s
Photography: 770s
Digital art: 776

Don't forget to also use Library Search to find ebooks and articles on your topic. The books on the shelf are only a small part of our collections.

Find books & ebooks

Use Library Search to find books and ebooks from the AUT Library collection.

Put some useful keywords or phrases into the search box (remember to put phrases in quotation marks), and click Search

Library Search box on the AUT library website


From the options in Combined Results, choose Books & media > See all results

Books & Media on the Librayr website

More help with using ebooks from the AUT Library

Find articles

Library Search

Library Search searches most of our library databases at once. So it is a great place to search for:

  • academic journal articles
  • industry journal articles
  • newspaper and magazine articles

Put some useful keywords or phrases into the search box (put phrases in quotation marks), and click Search

 

From the options in Combined Results, choose Articles & more > See all results

Articles & more on the Library website

More help with searching for journal articles

Google Scholar

You can also use Google Scholar to find academic articles, book chapters and conference proceedings. 

Always begin with AUT Google Scholar on the Library website. This will give you more access to full text information, for free.

If you see AUT articlelinker in your results, follow the links to find the full text in a Library database.

Art & design library databases

Getting too many results from Library Search or Google Scholar? You can focus your search by searching for articles in specific library databases. Check the discipline pages in this guide to find useful databases and journals that focus on different areas of art and design.

Find images

See the Find images guide for help finding high-quality images that you can reproduce in your academic work. 

Find company & industry information

You may be asked to research a company or industry sector to find design opportunities, or to provide background information for a product, experience, or service that you design. The Company and Industry Research Guide contains lots of links to helpful resources, plus step by step guides on searching company and industry databases.

Find statistics

You might need to find statistics to support your rationale for a design project, or to incorporate into the work itself.

Our Find statistical data guide contains links to many useful sources of national and international statistics.

Figure.nz is another good source for New Zealand data on a broad range of topics. It provides clear charts of publicly available data, with good metadata (information about the data and the data source). Most of the charts are Creative Commons licensed, meaning you can use them freely in your work, as long as you provide attribution.

Borrow from other libraries

If the AUT library does not hold the book or article you need, you may be able to interloan it (borrow it from another library). 

Interloan options

Academic writing support

For help with your academic writing, you can book into workshops or make an appointment with our Learning Advisors to discuss assessments.

Academic support options available from the Library

You might also find this little book useful - it's a quick but helpful read!