EndNote

• Use the reference type Journal Article, (do not use the Electronic Article type, which will not display the DOI).
• The Type field should only be used when a description is required (e.g., "Letter to editor" or "Special section")
• An Advance Online Publication requires either modifying the style, or plain text editing.
• If it is a Reprinted article, the reprint information can be entered into the Reprint Edition field.

Journal Article

Sourced from most academic research databases:

• Delete any URL, treat as a print version

With a non-academic database URL

• Enter the URL in the URL field

From an academic database, no DOI:

McCrickard, M., Raymond, A., Raymond, F., & Song, H. (2018). The APLIA math assessment scores and introductory economics courses: An analysis. Journal of Business and Educational Leadership, 8(1), 4–18.

Online from a non-academic database source, and no DOI:

Dayton, K. J. (2019). Tangled arms: Modernizing and unifying the arm-of-the-state doctrine. The University of Chicago Law Review, 86(6), 1497–1737. https://lawreview.uchicago.edu/node/6296

• No Type, Volume, Issue, or Pages are required. If any data is in those fields remove it

Fisher, S. A., Doree, C., Mathur, A., Taggart, D. P., & Martin-Rendon, E. (2016). Stem cell therapy for chronic ischaemic heart disease and congestive heart failure. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. https://doi.org/10.1002/14651858.CD007888.pub3 

• Year in the Year field
• Month dd-dd in the Date field
• Type of contribution (e.g. "Conference session" or "Paper presentation" or "Poster presentation") in the Type field
• Conference name in the Conference Name field
• Conference location in the Conference Location field
• Enter either the DOI or URL if present, but not both (DOI is preferred)

Mason, I. & Missingham, R. (2019, October 21-25). Research libraries, data curation, and workflows [Paper presentation]. eResearch Australasia Conference, Brisbane, QLD, Australia. https://conference.eresearch.edu.au/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/2019_eResearch_90_Research-Libraries-Data-Curation-and-Workflows_Ingrid_Mason.pdf

Journal Article

• Enter as you would for a journal article. 
• Enter the title of the Proceedings in the Journal field

Herculano-Houzel, S., Collins, C. E., Wong, P., Kaas, J. H., & Lent, R. (2008). The basic nonuniformity of the cerebral cortex. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, 105(34), 12593–12598. https://doi.org/10.1073/pnas.0805417105

Dataset

• Enter data creator's name in the Investigators field
• Enter any version number in the Version field
• Enter the phrase Data set in the Type field

Ministry for the Environment. (2021). Vulnerable catchments (Version 21) [Data set]. https://data.mfe.govt.nz/layer/53523-vulnerable-catchments/

• Enter the full artist name in the Created By field
• Enter the medium (e.g., Painting) in the Type of Work field
• If held by a Gallery or Museum, enter the Name, City, State, Country in the Distributor field
• If found on a Website (not affiliated with a Gallery or Museum), enter the Website name (no Location) in the Distributor field
• Enter the URL if present.

j4p4n. (2022). So many books student - Colour remix [Clip art]. Openclipart. https://openclipart.org/detail/335441/so-many-books-student-colour-remix

Vermeer, J. (c. 1665). Girl with a pearl earring [Painting]. Mauritshuis Royal Picture Gallery, The Hague, Netherlands. http://www.mauritshuis.nl/index.aspx?Chapterid=2295.

• The Director should be credited as the Author of the work. If this is unknown a similar role can be credited instead (see note above table).
• Enter the descriptor Film in the Medium field (you can finish with a semi-colon and add specific version information if required).
• Enter the Studio Name in the Distributor field.

Jackson, P. (Director). (2001). The lord of the rings: The fellowship of the ring [Film; four disc special extended ed. on DVD]. Wingnut Films; The Saul Zaentz Company.

Lonergan, K. (Director). (2000). You can count on me [Film]. Paramount Pictures.

• Enter the names of the executive producers in the Director field, with the Executive Producer(s) contributor role descriptor only used on the last name (see note above table).
• Enter the Series name in the Title field.
• Enter the Year range the series has run, in the Year field. If the series is still running replace the second year with the word "present" (e.g., 2023-present).
• Enter Television series in the Medium field.
• Enter the Production Company(s) in the Distributor field.

Griffin, J., Lang, R., & Bennett, S. (Executive Producers). (2005–2010). Outrageous fortune [Television series]. South Pacific Pictures.

• Enter the Writer(s) and Director for the episode, with contributor roles listed for each, in the Director field (see note above).
• Enter the Month dd the episode aired in the Broadcast Date field.
• Enter the Executive Producer(s) in the Series Director field, with the contributor role descriptor only used on the last name (see note above) .
• Enter the Season and the Episode number in the fields of the same name.
• Enter TV series episode in the Medium field.
• Enter the Production Company(s) in the Distributor field.

Egan, D. (Writer), & Alexander, J. (Director). (2006, January 10). Failure to communicate (Season 2, Episode 10)  [TV series episode]. In D. Shore (Executive Producer), House. Fox Broadcasting.

• Enter the full name (if known) of the person(s) or group who uploaded the video in the Username field
• Enter the username if present in the Handle field
• Enter the Month dd in the Post Date field
• Enter Video in the Type of Work field
• Enter the Site Name you accessed it from (eg. YouTube, TED Conferences) in the Provider field

• Enter the full name of the presenter in the Username field
• Enter Webinar in the Type of Work field
• Enter the Site Name you accessed it from in the Provider field

• Enter Pamphlet (or Brochure in the Type of Work field.
• If the Publisher is also the Author, do not repeat the name in the Publisher field.

Ministry of Health. (2001). Keep your head above water [Pamphlet]. https://www.healthed.govt.nz/resource/keep-your-head-above-water

• Enter PowerPoint slides in the Report Number field.
• Enter the Platform name (eg. SlideShare, or Canvas) in the Publisher field.

Vanderbauwhede, W. (2020). A few thoughts on work-life balance [PowerPoint slides]. SlideShare.  https://www.slideshare.net/WimVanderbauwhede/a-few-thoughts-on-work-lifebalance

• If there is identifying Report information (e.g., a report number or series name and number), enter this information in the Report Number field.
• Enter the Publisher's name in the Publisher field (see note above).

Chiswell, S. & Grant, B. (2019). New Zealand coastal sea surface temperature (Report no. CR388). National Institute of Water & Atmospheric Research.  https://www.mfe.govt.nz/sites/default/files/media/Marine/nz-coastal-sea-surface-temperature.PDF

• Enter full author name in the Username field
• Enter @username In the Handle field
• If audiovisuals are present in the post, note this in the Original Name field (e.g., Image attached, or Thumbnail with link attached)
• Enter Tweet in the Type of work field
• Enter Twitter/X in the Provider field

Ardern, J. [@jacindaardern]. (2018, October 15). I salute you, @Kereru4PM#BirdOfTheYear [Tweet]. Twitter. https://twitter.com/jacindaardern/status/1051569120066469889

• Enter full author name in the Username field
• Enter @username in the Handle field
• Enter content description in the Type of work field (e.g. Highlight or Photographs)
• Enter Instagram in the Provider field
• If a Highlight use n.d. as the date, and include the Retrieval date in the Access Date field

Ministry of Education NZ [@educationgovtnz]. (2022, October 3). Phrases you can learn for Macawa ni Vosa Vakaviti / Fijian language week [Slide show]. Instagram. https://www.instagram.com/p/CjPboPruQAv/?hl=en

• Enter the Month dd of the post into the Date field
• Enter the blog name into the Title of WebLog field

Klymkowsky, M. (2021, June 5). Mice (and humans) in a maze: A useful parable for science education? Bioliteracy. https://bioliteracy.blog/2021/06/05/mice-humans-in-a-maze-a-useful-parable-for-science-education/

• Enter the Month dd of the post into the Date field.
• Enter the comment title or up to the first 20 words of the comment in the Title of Entry field, then start square brackets and write. Comment on the blog post and the full title of original post on which the comment appeared, with the original title in quotation marks.
• Enter the blog name into the Title of WebLog field.

joachimr. (2019, November 19). We are relying on APA as our university style format - the university is located in Germany (Kassel). So I [Comment on the blog post “The transition to seventh edition APA Style”]. APA Style. https://apastyle.apa.org/blog/transition-seventh-edition#comment-4694866690

• Enter the Standard Number in the Report Number field.
• If the publisher is different from the Author, enter the Publisher's name in the Publisher field.

International Organization for Standardization. (2018). Occupational health and safety management systems - Requirements with guidance for use (ISO Standard No. 45001:2018). https://www.iso.org/standard/63787.html

• If there is a Publication number (e.g. a ProQuest Publication number), enter the number in the Document Number field
• Enter the Thesis /Dissertation type (e.g. Master's thesis) in the Thesis Type field 
• Enter the name of the Granting Institution in the University field  (if the location is also necessary, add it in here)
• Enter the name of the Institutional Repository or of the Database, in the Name of Database field 
• If from a Database, the URL is not required

Miller, T. (2019). Enhancing readiness: An exploration of the New Zealand Qualified Firefighter Programme [Master's thesis, Auckland University of Technology]. Tuwhera. https://openrepository.aut.ac.nz/handle/10292/12338

Becker, J. C. (2013). Landscape-level influences on community composition and ecosystem function in a large river ecosystem (Publication No. 3577776) [Doctoral dissertation, Graduate Council of Texas State University - San Marcos]. ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global.

• Enter the Thesis /Dissertation type (e.g. Unpublished master's thesis) in the Thesis Type field 
• Enter the name of the Granting Institution in the Place Published field (if the location is also necessary, add it in here)

Stewart, Y. (2000). Dressing the tarot [Unpublished master's thesis]. Auckland University of Technology.

• Provide as specific a date as possible, enter the Month dd information into the Last Update Date field.
• Enter the Website name in the Publisher field, unless the Website Name is also the (Group) author.
• If the page content is designed to change over time and the page is not archived, enter the exact date you opened the webpage in the Access Date field (format: Month dd, Year).

Monaghan, E. (2019, December 10). 5 reasons modern slavery at sea is still possible in 2019. Greenpeace. https://www.greenpeace.org/new-zealand/story/5-reasons-modern-slavery-at-sea-is-still-possible-in-2019/