Attach pdfs to references
You can add pdf files to associated references in your EndNote library. There are two methods.
Add using Find Full Text
The Find Full Text function searches for full text pdf files of articles and can automatically attach them to the record in your EndNote library.
This works for journal articles (preferably with DOI numbers). Find Full Text works better on campus than remotely, but even then some full text articles may be missed.
- Open your library and highlight the records for which you want to find full text pdfs: Ctrl+click to highlight several records, or Shift+click to select a range of records.
- Select References > Find Full Text > Find Full Text or use the Find Full Text button.
Depending on how many references you have selected, the search for full text may take several minutes. The results will be displayed in the left-hand panel.
Retrieved pdfs will be added automatically to the references panel. The paperclip icon indicates that a pdf is attached to the article.
If no full text document is found a URL is sometimes added to the record instead.
Manually attaching a pdf
If you have a pdf saved on your computer, you can attach it directly to a reference in your EndNote library.
- Highlight the reference in the reference panel.
- In the Summary tab, click the Attach file button, find the pdf on your computer and attach it to the reference.
OpenURLs
Open URL
Setting the OpenURL correctly will help you find full text from the databases AUT subscribes to and attach the pdfs to references in your EndNote library. The address of the AUT open URL is https://resolver.ebscohost.com.ezproxy.aut.ac.nz/openurl
In your EndNote library, select Edit > Preferences. In the Preferences box, select Find Full Text. Enter the AUT Open URL as the OpenURL Path, and click OK to save this change.
