Get Published

"Open access is a set of principles and practices through which research outputs are distributed online, free of cost or other access barriers."  Open Access Australasia. To find out more about Open Access publishing go to the Open Access guide.  Open Access Australasia slides. 

Some benefits are:

• Accessible for everyone, reaching a wider audience
• Reaches a more diverse audience and disadvantaged communities
• Increases rates of citation
• Enhances universities' research profiles 
• Publicly funded research is made publicly accessible
• Research funders achieve better returns from their investment
• Quicker turn-around time

Find more information on the Open Access guide. 

Publish your research in an open access (OA) journal and/or in an open repository:

Fully open journals: 

• All articles are open access
• Business models vary, but most require payment of an article processing charge (APC)
• Also known as 'gold' OA
   

Hybrid journals: 

• Some articles require a subscription to read
• Some  articles are open access
• All hybrid journals require payment of an APC (waived if the journal is part of AUT's Read & Publish agreements)
• Sometimes described as 'authors choice'
   

Institution journals:

• All articles are open access
• All articles are free to publish
• Journals are supported by institutions, such as universities.
  • Example: AUT's Tuwhera peer-reviewed journals
• Also known as 'diamond' OA
   

Open repositories: ('Green OA')

• All articles are open access
• All articles are free to archive
• Deposit the author accepted version of the published work (check publisher policies)
• Includes university repositories and discipline specific repositories.
  • Example: AUT's Research repository
  • Example: arXiv for physics and mathematics and PubMed Central for biomedical and life sciences

Note: There are also some freely available journals in which articles have no open license (and are therefore not fully open access).  The articles may only be openly available for a limited time.  This is sometimes known as 'Bronze' open access. 

Sherpa Romeo 
"Sherpa Romeo is an online resource that aggregates and analyses publisher open access policies from around the world and provides summaries of publisher copyright and open access archiving policies on a journal-by-journal basis."

Sherpa Juliet 
"Sherpa Juliet is a searchable database and single focal point of up-to-date information concerning funders' policies and their requirements on open access, publication and data archiving."

Directory of Open Access Journals DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to information on high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Find information on a journal's open access publishing policy on the journals homepage. ​

Megajournals are Open Access and have a broad coverage in a range of subject areas. They accept articles for publication based on whether they are technically sound rather than selecting for perceived importance. They have article processing charges to cover the costs of publishing and usually have fast review and turnaround time.  Some have high impact factors. They are published online and fully open access, using Creative Common licenses. 

Some examples: