Matching your abstract to a journal
Some publishers or websites provide a tool to match your abstract/keywords to relevant journals:
Finding journals in databases
Search any database
- on your research topic and check which journals the papers appear in (you may wish to sort by highest cited)
- for well know authors in your field to see where they have published
- on source titles to see which journals have the most articles on your topic
Databases often have journal lists which can be accessed by subject and include impact factors. See the Research Impact guide for more information on metrics.
Database suggestions:
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
You can search by topic, then under Refine Search open Source type to find journals, and Author name for authors.
You can also go to Sources on the top menu. Search for journals by subject category, or title. You can refnie by Open Access Journal or quartile.
You can Compare journals from a link on the Advanced Search page. Compare journals you have selected or search for keywords in the title.
- Dimensions This link opens in a new window
Search on your topic, under Filters on the left, click on Source Titles and then click on a specific journal for more data.
You can open also open Analytical Views for more information and metrics about journals.
EBSCO databases have a Publication option in the top menu. View the alphabetical list, or browse by subject and description, or match any words.
EBSCO databases include Business Source Complete, CINAHL Complete, Medline, SPORTDiscus and more.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Search IEEE Xplore for engineering and computer science journals. You can also browse journals by title or topic.
Journal records in IEEE Xplore have impact factors and information on submitting.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Click on the menu. Select metrics to open a list of top publications. Select view all at the bottom. Select the category and subcategory to see the top 20 in that category. This is based on Google Scholar metrics.
 |
 |
Finding open access journals
In databases: Limit your search to Open Access in any database
In directories: Search the following directories
Checking your references
- Checking the journals you cited
- Checking your referencing manager (e.g. EndNote)
Read & Publish agreements
AUT Library has some "Read and Publish" agreements with academic journal publishers.
These agreements enable corresponding authors from AUT to publish open access no cost to themselves or the faculty.
See our Read & publish agreements guide for details on publishers, journals, article allowances and the submission process.