EndNote

EndNote Online is the online counterpart of your desktop version.  

EndNote Online provides:

• ability to sync with a local version so you can access your library from multiple locations
• a back up of a desktop library
• an unlimited number of references and unlimited attachments
• a Capture tool allowing you to export web-based sources that don't have EndNote's direct export tool
• options that streamline reference-sharing with colleagues

Important note: EndNote Online does not have Group sets and Smart Groups functions. If you have used multiple group sets or Smart groups in your desktop library, you may NOT sync your desktop library with your online library.

Registration

• Go to the EndNote online login page to register your account
• Enter your email address and choose a password

There are two essential tools for using EndNote Online. Click Downloads on your EndNote Online toolbar to find these tools:

Cite While You Write plug-in

CWYW plug-in connects EndNote and Word and enables you to cite while you write in Word.

• If you have already installed a desktop version of the EndNote software, you don't need to download the Cite While You Write plug-in
• If you use EndNote Online without EndNote desktop, or EndNote Basic only, you should install this plug-in

Capture plug-ins

• The Capture bookmarklet creates references for websites and other web-based sources that don't have an in-built direct export option
• See Capture Reference below for more on using it

Use Sync to create an online backup of a desktop library, or if you work on different computers.

You can only have one online library. If you syncronise more than one desktop library this process will merge your different libraries, essentially making them one library.

Initial sychronisation

• Always start by creating a backup 
• Open your local (desktop) library
• (Windows/PC): Go to Edit > Preferences >Sync
• (Mac): Go to EndNote Version > Preferences >Sync

• Untick Sync Automatically (until you are more familiar with the process), click Enable Sync
• With Sync Automatically unticked enter your EndNote Account Credentials (email and password), click OK
• Once the process has completed, check your local and online libraries are the same

Subsequent access

• Sign in to your account via http://www.myendnoteweb.com 
• After sychronisation press <F5> to ensure the display has refreshed before viewing the updated library
• Any changes you make to your online library will be pulled down into your local library next time you sychronise

• Click the Collect tab, then New Reference
• Select the appropriate reference type
• Enter data into the correct fields (those used by major style guides will appear first)
• Save the reference
• APA style users: if the reference is not formatted correctly, check our APA 7th guide, or the APA 7th & EndNote section of this guide 

Like the EndNote desktop version, there are a number of ways to add references into your EndNote Online Library.

Note: If you use both EndNote desktop and EndNote Online, use your desktop library to import or manually add references. You can then sync your desktop library with your EndNote Online library.  

Direct export from library databases

• Some library databases provide an option to export references to EndNote Online directly. The following example can be found in Library Search and EBSCO databases:

Importing references from other databases

• Search a database and select articles you want to export to your EndNote Online.
• Save the file, usually as a .ris format. The Instructions on exporting citations from a specific database may guide you through this process. 
• Go to your EndNote online library, click the Collect > Import References
• Click Choose File and select the text file from your computer
• Select the database used to create this text file from the drop-down Import Option box
• Select a group for keeping these references. If you don't have a group for these references, select Unfiled
• Click Import

Check this online instruction for importing references from Google Scholar to your EndNote Online library.

EndNote's Capture plug-in creates references for websites and other web-based sources that don't have an in-built direct export option. Click Downloads and drag the Capture Reference button to your Bookmarks bar.

Note: References created this way often have missing information. You should always check and edit references. 

Create Groups

By default EndNote adds new references under the Unfiled group. You can create new groups to organise your references:

• Select the references you want to group
• Click Add to group from the drop-down menu, select New group.
• Name the new group, click OK

Note:

• A reference can be added to multiple groups
• Group sets and Smart groups are not available in EndNote Online. If you have multiple group sets in your desktop library, the syncing will only sync groups. Smart groups will not be synced. 

Show Me

Share references with other EndNote users

• Go to Manage My Groups on the Organize tab
• Click the Manage Sharing button next to the group you' want to share.
• Enter the email addresses of the people you want to share with (they must have an EndNote account)
• Choose whether to give them Read-only or Read & Write access, click Apply
• Read-only access allows viewing, adding to Word documents and copying to an individual library; Read & Write access allows these functions and in addition the ability to add, change or remove references in the group

Show Me

CWYW (Cite while you write) plug-in connects EndNote and Word and enables you to insert references while you write in Word.

• If you have already installed a desktop version of the EndNote software, you don't need to download the Cite While You Write plug-in from Downloads on EndNote Online.
• If you use EndNote Online without an EndNote desktop programme, you should install this plug-in

Enable CWYW using an EndNote Online Library

• The Word EndNote CWYW is connected to your desktop library by default 
• You can change the Word EndNote CWYW to your EndNote Online library
• Open Word, select the EndNote CWYW tab on the Word ribbon, click Preferences > Application > Select EndNote Online > OK

EndNote Web is the refreshed version of EndNote Online, which Clarivate has released as a companion product to EndNote 21. 

You can find out more about syncing your desktop EndNote library to EndNote Web on the Clarivate EndNote 21 training webpage.