Chicago Referencing Guide

Bibliography

Your bibliography should include every work that you cite in your text, as well as works that were important to your thinking, even if you did not mention them in your text. Label this standard type Bibliography or Sources Consulted.

There are other types of bibliography which you may be asked to create:

Selected bibliography

If a bibliography only includes some of the sources you have used, it should be labelled Selected Bibliography. If you choose to create this type of biblography, make sure your lecturer or supervisor knows that you are only citing selected sources, and give a good reason for this.

Single-author bibliography

This is a list of works by a single author. Label it Works of [Author's Name]. You can arrange it chronologically or alphabetically by title.

Annotated bibliography

This is a bibliography with added annotations - descriptions of each work's content and/or its relevance to your research. Check with your lecturer or supervisor to see what their requirements are in regards to the length and purpose of the annotations. Brief annotations (usually a single phrase) can be added in brackets after the publication data.

Longer annotations can be added on a new line, without brackets.

For more details on formatting individual elements of a bibliographic reference, see the examples of each source type in the left-hand menu, and the detailed notes below.

• When you reference more than one work by an author (or editor) in your paper, list them alphabetically by title (ignoring words such as a or the).
• For all references after the first, a group of three em dashes and a period should replace the author’s name. You can insert an em dash in Microsoft Word 2016 by choosing Insert > Symbol > Special Character > Em Dash. Alternatively, you can use six small dashes.

List all these works before any that the individual co-authored or co-edited.

For a work that you found online, choose the appropriate location information to include:

• If there is a DOI (Digital Object Identifier) listed with the work, use that.
• If no DOI is available, use a stable URL.
• If you found the work by searching a library or commercial database, you can use the database name instead of a URL.

DOI

DOI stands for Digital Object Identifier.

• A DOI is a string of characters that commonly identifies a journal article, but can also be found on other publication types, including books.
• All DOIs start with 10. and include numbers and letters. For example: doi:10.1016/j.addbeh.2009.08.001
• The DOI provides a permanent internet address for the item, making it easy to locate.
• You may search by DOI numbers in Library Search or at http://dx.doi.org.ezproxy.aut.ac.nz, to locate articles.

Always use the DOI in your citation, if available. 

To cite a DOI, append the DOI number (starting with 10.) to https://doi.org/

URL

If there is no DOI for an online work, include a URL in your reference.If a URL is listed along with the work, use that one rather than the one in your browser's address bar (which may not be a stable URL). 

Database name

If you found the work by searching a library or commercial database, you may give the name of the database instead of a URL.

If a source that you are using includes a useful quotation from another source, you should try to obtain the original and cite that, in order to verify that the quotation is accurate and quoted in context. However, if the original source is unavailable, you can cite it as quoted in the secondary source.

By convention, you can leave references to the following source types out of your bibliography. Cite them in your notes only, unless they are critical to your argument or frequently cited, in which case you should include them:

• newspaper articles
• classical, medieval, and early English literary works
• the Bible and other sacred works
• well-known reference works, such as major dictionaries and encyclopedias
• abstracts
• unpublished interviews and personal communications
• websites
• online videos and podcasts
• social media posts
• some sources in the visual and performing arts, including artworks and live performances (but note that for Art & Design writing, these sources are likely to be critical to your argument, and in this case they should be included)
• cartoons, maps, and print advertisements
• the US Constitution, legal cases, and some other public documents

If you are unsure about which of these you should include in your bibliography, consult Turabian's A Manual for Writers, or contact your Liaison Librarian for advice.