Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chicago Referencing Guide

Notes-Bibliography Style

Magazine articles - general pattern

Magazine articles are cited much like journal articles, but with a few key differences, discussed in this section.

Print magazine

Note:

#. Author's First Name Last Name, "Title of Article: Subtitle," Title of Magazine, Date of Publication, page(s).

Bibliography:

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle." Title of Magazine, Date of Publication.

Online magazine

Note:

#. Author's First Name Last Name, "Title of Article: Subtitle," Title of Magazine, Date of Publication, URL or Database Name.

Bibliography:

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle." Title of Magazine, Date of Publication. URL or Database Name.

Regular column

If you cite a column or other part of a magazine that appears regularly, capitalise it headline style and do not enclose it in quotation marks.

Bibliography:

Tsui, Eugene. On Location Aboard. Green Places, February 2011. 

Date of publication

  • Cite magazines by date only, even if they have a volume or issue number.
  • Expand the names of months and years, even if they are abbreviated by the magazine (e.g., June 1997 rather than Jun97).
  • Do not enclose the date in brackets.

Bibliography:

Kerr, Elizabeth. "Portrait of the Artist as a Late Bloomer." Listener, May 7, 2016.

Quinn, Bradley. "Northen Lights: Astrid Krogh’s Luminescent Textile Design." Selvedge, November/December 2017. Art Full Text. 

Page numbers

  • If you cite a particular passage in a note, include its page number.
  • Don't include the page range of the magazine article in the bibliography entry (since magazine articles are often spread over many pages, with advertisements and other material in between).
  • Online magazines will usually not include page numbers to cite, so you can omit them. 

Note:

15. D.J. Beere, “A Plea for the Preservation of St Paul's, Wellington," Design Review, April 1954, 105.

Bibliography:

Beere, D.J. “A Plea for the Preservation of St Paul's, Wellington." Design Review, April 1954.